UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Some Annoyances and Some Improvements

Ditching Yahoo!

Ditching Yahoo!

I’m really liking some of the changes I’m seeing to FireFox and its addons, to WordPress, and a few related notes.

Sage for Firefox is the feed reader I use, and there’ve been some improvements that I’m really grooving to, like the transparent RSS indicator in the top right corner of whatever page I’m reading.  I don’t usually like that kind of thing, but it’s a nice touch.

WordPress has been making major improvements to the dog of User Interface they put out recently, and I’m liking it much better.  They changed the way the image insertion works, and it took some getting used to, but I’m liking it.  It’s a time saver now that I’m getting the hang of it and they’re working the bugs out of it.  They finally implemented the captions box, and it works for the most part.  My only big bitch left on that?

The fracking thing erases my first paragraph when I insert an image at the beginning of a post.  That. Is. Really. Annoying.  WordPress!  PLEASE FIX THAT SOON!  kthnxbi.  (Crap, I forgot about it AGAIN, and it just dumped my first paragraph.  Crap, crap, crap.)  (Also, I’d like a little more control over color and font of the caption box, if that’s not too much trouble – transparent box should be an option…)

And that brings me to Yahoo!.  Jerks.

(Flames fly below the fold)

Ok, Yahoo! was prettier than Hotmail.  More refined, more girly, whatever you want to call it.  That’s why I chose it.  They improved the interface a while back, and mostly it was great except for the constant attempts to install Yahoo! Messenger on my computer.  I don’t want it.  It’s nothing but an intrusive way for Yahoo! to put advertising in my face.

I don’t even do chat or IM.  I like to think about what I’m writing, proofread it so I don’t look illiterate, then send it along.  Plus, IM and chat make me feel tied to the computer.  Email and blogging I can do when I get a minute, when I feel like it, when the time is right.  The war with Yahoo! IM was hard fought, but I eventually shut the damn thing down permanently.

But I still harbor a grudge.

I see a lot of people moving to GMail.  I’ve heard good things about it.  I’m considering it, and plus it’s less… transient feeling than a Yahoo! address to me.  But I wasn’t in any big rush to switch or anything.  I’ve had the same address for two years, and switching sounded like a bit of a pain.

Then Yahoo! annoyed me one too many times.  The latest pain in my ass is the side-bar advertising (that sometimes even crashes my browser).  Firefox is helpful in shutting down the ads, but that damned sidebar is set up so that if you kill it, it screws your whole mailbox up.  That pisses me off.  So although I don’t have ads over there, I’ve got like a third of my screen taken up by a big stupid blank spot.

There’s a little arrow for clicking it closed.  I click it.  It closes, and gives me back my real estate… until I click on another message or folder.  Then it comes back.  Worse, and yet more annoying than that is the little pop-up window that says, “If you give us money, we’ll stop annoying you by stealing your screen.  Check the box if you don’t want to see this message again.”  So I check the box and close the window, and it goes away.

Until the next time I open my mail.  And just to drive me insane, it’s been completely dumping my email as I write, at random intervals, for no apparent reason.  I’m just getting to the end of a long, hot, steamy missive to one of you, and BAM!  gone.  Not even saved in the drafts.  I have to start all over.

Y’know what, Yahoo!?  Go fuck yourself.  I’m moving out.

I’ve been checking out GMail.  Sweet.  Threaded Email conversations, slicker workings, no crappy ads, and I can have my screen (how generous of them!).  My only big bitch was the look of the interface.  It totally sucks.  Like someone spent two minutes on the CSS, gave it a lick and a promise, and walked away.

But then I found Better GMail, a FireFox addon that includes a skin called Redesigned.  Holy crap, is it sweet.  Professional looking, like someone knew what the hell they were doing.  If I could get the exact same thing for Google Reader, I might even consider using that.  No such luck though, and I’m not unhappy with Sage (except that it too takes up real estate when open), so there ya go.

Buh bye, Yahoo! you bastards, hello GMail.

Filed under: About, Rants, Testing, WordPress, , ,

17 Responses

  1. JanieBelle says:

    My new Email address is similar to my old one, just replace the domain.

    janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

    (It’s in the right sidebar, in case you forget.)

  2. ERV says:

    Yay! Glad I could turn you on to something new 🙂

  3. JanieBelle says:

    You rocketh. Thank you, Abbie.

    Did you check out Better GMail? (or did you already have it?)

    Kisses

    🙂

  4. JanieBelle says:

    P.S. I always love to be turned on to new things. I’ve got this idea about an egg beater…

    Want to take it out for a spin?

  5. Rystefn says:

    Gmail is better, but it fails at the instant notification I prefer about my e-mail experience. I have also had the same e-mail address for more then a decade, and that is how people can get in touch with me even after a very long time. Given the sheer volume of people I have told that I intend to keep the addy as long as the company exists, it would be unforgivable of me to switch… That said, I do actually have two gmail accounts for specific purposes that I check from time to time. It is a slow and unreliable way to get in touch with me, but it does exist.

  6. Stephanie Z says:

    I started using Gmail as off-site backup for writing, but I’m using it more for regular email these days. My home account just can’t follow me around this way. It’s much like people having my cell phone number without me having to talk on the phone.

  7. Rystefn says:

    Yes, I do back up a lot of my writing that way. Is useful that way.

  8. JanieBelle says:

    oooo… Google Documents thingy?

    That’s pretty cool.

  9. JanieBelle says:

    Ugly as sin, but cool.

  10. Beth says:

    You are such a geek.

    Yahoo *shudders* ick.

    Gmail *shrug* S’okay. Gets it done.

  11. JanieBelle says:

    Hey, I am a past winner of the Celluloid Blonde Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post award, y’know.

    We are geeks, and we are proud.

    🙂

  12. Kym says:

    I want to know how you geek got the caption thingee to work on Word press. I’ve given up. On the other hand it doesn’t eat my first paragraph….

  13. JanieBelle says:

    🙂

    First, it seems WP has fixed the paragraph munchies issue.

    The caption thing. It’s hard to explain, but easy to do, Kym.

    OK, you put the image in, right? Then left click on it and a little box pops up with two icons in it. One looks like a picture of a mountain. Click it.

    Your screen should go gray while it loads a pop up.

    When the pop up pops up, you’ll see some options there. Fill in the boxes that say “Title” and “Caption” (it’s acting a little finicky, and sometimes stuff you put there doesn’t stick, but don’t worry about it too much.)

    Put a link url in the “Link URL” box if you want, and that makes your image clickable.

    Back up at the top of the pop-up box, there’s a link that says “Advanced Settings”.

    Click.

    You’ll see your image source already filled in, and you can fill in the width and height boxes if you want to change those.

    Then, for me what works best is 0 for the border, and 5 for the vertical and horizontal space boxes. As you plug in numbers, the css code will fill itself in in the styles box. It’s cool, but you can ignore it.

    At the bottom, click “Update”.

  14. Kym says:

    Ah, I did that maybe it just didn’t stick the couple times I tried it when they first offered the option. I’ll try again.

  15. JanieBelle says:

    Yeah, it’s been there a while, and just surprised me the other day when it worked.

  16. JanieBelle says:

    PLEASE FIX THAT SOON! kthnxbi. (Crap, I forgot about it AGAIN, and it just dumped my first paragraph. Crap, crap, crap.) (Also, I’d like a little more control over color and font of the caption box, if that’s not too much trouble – transparent box should be an option…)

    Some days I just love those jerks.

    Now, about that de-listing of adult oriented blogs thing…

  17. JanieBelle says:

    They are awesome programmers.

    Customer relations however, could use just a little bit of work.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 398,016 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
