UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Here is the News – ELO instead of AP

Homeland Securtiy, by Thomas Hawk @ FlickrHere is the news:

Peeks above our garters go to both Bug Girl and Afarensis for this unsettling news.

Here is the news:

It seems the Associated Press has decided that the doctrine of Fair Use should not apply to Bloggers who quote from its articles. To that end, it has unveiled a fee schedule for quoting it, which it hopes to enforce in a rather grimy fashion.

Here is the news:

The AP is offering up to $1,000,000 to anyone who turns in a blogger who refuses to ante up $12.50 for quoting between five and twenty-five words of their material.

Here is the news:

Kiss my ass, AP.

Here is the news:

I’ll get mine elsewhere before I pay you a fracking dime.

Here is the news:

Electric Light Orchestra – kindly uploaded by SonyBMG to their official YouTube channel.

From whence came the art:

That image is titled Homeland Security, by Thomas Hawk and is licensed under the Creative Commons.

Filed under: A Rollcall of Science Chicks, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Censorship, Entertainment, Friends, Music Video, Rants, Science Links, Video, , , , , ,

17 Responses

  1. Diana says:

    Are you serious?? Can they really do that??

  2. JanieBelle says:

    I’m not a lawyer, but somehow I doubt it’s legally enforcible. They can afford big-time attorneys, though, so I won’t hazard a guess as to how it would actually turn out in court.

  3. Miss Vicki says:

    Ok I say give them what they want.

    I want quote or acknowledge AP writes again, until somebody removes that stick from you know where.

    A million dollars to catch a person like me or you and there are millions of hungry children here in America and across the globe.

    I am so thru with them I’m not even going to read them – Uh Oh I’m on a boycott!

  4. JanieBelle says:

    I’m with you, Miss Vicki.

    Screw ’em.

    (and not in a good way)

  5. Rystefn says:

    I’m on board. AP can rot.

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Rock on! If Rystefn’s with us, the world trembles.

    Kisses, Rystefn!

  7. Kristine says:

    What is wrong with these entrenched old farts? Don’t they understand the nature of the internet today? Don’t they understand that this will just freeze them out of the big conversation?

    If AP could change with the times, they wouldn’t be grubbing for money in this way like a certain publishers’ conglomerate I could mention, and instead realize that dissemination helps them.

    I guess bloggers get the news themselves (but good luck with the clueless GOP with that) and quote each other from now on.

    AP + AAP = PAAAP! 😉

  8. JanieBelle says:

    What is wrong with these entrenched old farts? Don’t they understand the nature of the internet today? Don’t they understand that this will just freeze them out of the big conversation?

    Apparently not, Kristine.

    Oh, they do sound pissed, don’t they?

    AP + AAP = PAAAP!

    You always make me giggle.

    Kisses

  9. As a – imagine that – former editor, I can say that we only asked when people cited our print or internet work just to give us a credit and/or link, Photos were another thing, but we didn’t threaten to hunt down and kill reasonable users.

    AP sounds like they’re scared.

  10. JanieBelle says:

    I agree with that assessment, FFE. They sound like they’re afraid of becoming irrelevant in the world of the Blogosphere.

    Of course, the more intelligent solution here would be to put out better news than anyone else, and get it distributed to as many bloggers as possible, so that it’s in as many browsers as possible. But hey, what do I know?

    I’ve always tried to remember to credit and link news stories, and I go to great lengths to use almost exclusively CC licensed images now, and link the image as well as the credits and I’ve even started linking the specific license in the image credit.

    I admit that it wasn’t always so, but I never really intended this blog to be as long lived as it has. (Yesterday was my second blogoversary, btw.)

  11. Lemme tell you about the old days (circa 2004-06) when I managed a weekly that was part of conglomerate Media General – itself an AP member. I couldn’t use AP print or graphic material, however, because the membership didn’t extend to the company’s weeklies. Anything that we generated, however, could be supplied to AP by our regional flagship paper.

    AP used to have a purpose – to get important news to the people. I guess that went by the wayside years ago.

  12. JanieBelle says:

    Lemme tell you about the old days (circa 2004-06)

    Geez, you’re just all kinds of ancient, aren’t you?

    Seems like the AP got all the good ends of that stick, didn’t they?

    AP used to have a purpose – to get important news to the people. I guess that went by the wayside years ago.

    Sadly, that would certainly appear to be the case.

  13. I still remember the AP switchover from wire copy and photos to digital transmission and then to web-based, so yeah, I’ve seen a few years and a few X-acto cuts on the fingertips

  14. And you need some vintage ELO (try 1973):

  15. JanieBelle says:

    I like about everything ELO’s done that I’ve heard, but I’m a huge fan of Time.

    It’s just such a cool concept.

  16. I kinda drifted away from them after “Out of the Blue” but they still perk up my ears. I just liked the more Move-like sound, but I have no taste either, heh.

  17. JanieBelle says:

    Well I don’t claim to be the paragon of taste myself, so I guess we’re playing from the same book.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,987 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
