UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Why Senator Clinton Will Get My Vote

Hillary Clinton 1, by Daniella Zalcman @ Flickr(For my thoughts on Senator Obama, read Democratic Musings.)

I’ve held off on posting my thoughts on Senator Clinton for a while now for several reasons.

Firstly, they’re complicated and difficult for me to articulate.

Secondly, they’re not as concrete as I would like them to be. That complicates my previously mentioned difficulty. The far right wing of the Republican party has definitely done a masterful job at demonizing her, and this would seem to be a very successful use of Overton Window type rhetoric. It’s spilled across the aisle, and that distresses me.

Certainly Senator Clinton has some baggage, but honestly, don’t they all?

After all is said and done, it’s the issues that matter. Yes, she voted to allow the invasion of Iraq and refuses to stop trying to defend that egregious error in judgement, and yes, that certainly pisses me off. But. What is she planning to do now?

Continued below the fold…

While I certainly applaud Senator Obama for his vote on the matter, he’s talking more and more like he intends to “Stay the course”. That is rhetoric which I definitely do not want to hear. Senator Clinton has said she’ll begin withdrawing troops immediately. I’m in favor of that. Now. Get our troops out of Iraq. Now. Now. Now.

Senator Clinton wants to make sure that every single American has health care coverage. I was initially concerned about the way she wanted to go about it, but after thinking about it, I’m not adamantly opposed to requiring it that way. We as a society have decided it’s beneficial to require car insurance for cars. If the choice is between that and leaving Americans without insurance, then I have to go with the requirement. Health care is just too important to be an optional luxury. Subsidize it if need be. I’m OK with higher taxes to help out those who need it.

Senator Clinton has come out with clear statements about giving religious fanatics the boot from Science, Education, and Governmental Policy decisions. Senator Obama has declined to echo those sentiments in all but the most vague of ways. I’m sorely and increasingly disappointed with Senator Obama’s absence on the issue.

Senator Obama wants to get more money to early education efforts, and I applaud that. My problem with his plan is that he favors slashing NASA’s budget to do it. If you’ll forgive the mangling of O. Henry, that’s about like cutting off all your hair and selling it to pay for combs. It makes for a poignant short story, but not forward thinking educational policy.

I’m very upset about these United States using mercenaries to wage war. We are the good guys. We don’t hire killers to do our dirty work. We wear the white hats. Right? So why will Senator Obama “not rule out” the use of them? Senator Clinton, on the other hand has co-sponsored legislation to outlaw the use of them.

“From this war’s very beginning, this administration has permitted thousands of heavily-armed military contractors to march through Iraq without any law or court to rein them in or hold them accountable. These private security contractors have been reckless and have compromised our mission in Iraq. The time to show these contractors the door is long past due. We need to stop filling the coffers of contractors in Iraq, and make sure that armed personnel in Iraq are fully accountable to the U.S. government and follow the chain of command,” said Senator Clinton.

After all is said and done, after all the wonderful public speeches, and after consideration of the candidates’ actual positions on the issues, Senator Clinton is the candidate who will get my vote in the Democratic primary on May 6.

From whence came the art:

That image is titled Hillary Clinton 1, by Daniella Zalcman.

Filed under: Education, Politics, Science, , , ,

18 Responses

  1. Infophile says:

    While I have no disagreements with you on the issues, I think you left out one important consideration: Can she beat McCain? To be honest, I think Obama has a better shot there, as he’s a lot better at drawing out the youth vote. In the end, I think that’s one of the most important considerations, as I’d take either of them over McCain (that is, current McCain, as opposed to the marginally sane person who used to occupy his body).

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Hi Infophile!

    I actually did consider that, but it would not seem to be the case.

    If Obama were to win the nomination, he would get 47 percent of the vote compared to 46 percent for McCain — a statistical tie given the poll’s 3 percentage point margin of error. Should Clinton win the nomination, the poll suggests she would get 49 percent compared to McCain’s 47 percent — another statistical tie.

  3. To defeat Capt. Sen. John McCain, she’d need the Negro vote and he’ll need the Lesbians.

    The real shame is that Rep. Shirley Chisholm is dead. This could have been her year.

  4. Infophile says:

    Hmm, looks interesting. Problem is, a poll like that doesn’t really account for voter turnout. What if Obama is better at getting people to the polls (as is theorized to be the case)?

  5. Sman says:

    The dems are showing up at the polls in numbers greatly exceeding those of the repubs. For that reason, the dems should be able to easily defeat anything from the right… let us hope.

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Sorry everyone.

    We’d snuck out of town for a few days. It was a planned trip this time, though. No funerals.

    You sure have your finger on the pulse of America, Rev. Hipple.

    I think we need more info on that, Infophile.

    Sman, let us hope indeed. The very last thing we need is four more years of McBush.

    Kisses to you all.

  7. mike says:

    Thanks for the interesting and thoughtful commentary. I’ll add my two cents. First, my personal opinion is that much of what is said in a campaign (particularly a primary) is either a complete fabrication for the purposes of getting elected or it is honest, but unrealistic and will fail to go anywhere after the person is question is elected. As a result it is hard for me to take in depth comparisons all that seriously.

    Second, this is completely subjective and obviously highly impacted by news coverage, but regardless it seems to me that Clinton is running a by-the-numbers political campaign. The way that campaign responds to mistakes and criticism seems so politically formulaic (i.e. the recent bit about the sniper bullets or the race comments) that it makes it very hard for me to believe. The contrast, again just for me, has been the Obama race speech.

  8. Pieter B says:

    I haven’t been here in a while, sad to say, and I’m pleased to see you’ve come down on the same side as myself, and for much the same reason.

    On the subject of “voting to allow the invasion of Iraq,” I have to take some issue. The resolution was presented as giving Dubya the Big Stick with which to force Saddam to allow UN inspectors in to find his alleged WMD. An invasion would be a “last resort,” we were told over and over again, and most of us believed that an American president would not lie to us on so grand a scale.

    You wrote “While I certainly applaud Senator Obama for his vote on the matter . . .”

    Obama’s charm has enabled him to convince many a person that he voted against the Iraq use-of-force resolution. He did not. He wasn’t in the Senate at the time. He’s said on more than one occasion that had he been in the Senate at the time of that vote, he does not know how he would have voted, one of the few things he’s said that I believe with little reservation.

  9. Greg Laden says:

    I think you are correct, and I do think she can beat McCain.

    But the problem right now is that the delegate count is not conclusive, and the majority of Democrats (as far as I can tell) seem to be behind Obama (by 5-10% of Clinton?). This means that the so called Superdelegates really have to back Obama.

    So, if Obama is the nominee, will this blog endorse him?

  10. JanieBelle says:

    Forgive my absence, all. I’ve been in a rather quiet mood for some time.

    Mike,

    I’m sort of torn on a closely related issue. Is it the President’s job to always do what they feel is the right thing, or is the President beholden to the will of the people in every case?

    I’m thinking the optimum answer is somewhere in between.

    As to the specific issue of campaign reaction to mistakes and missteps, I pretty much expect a candidate to act exactly as you describe… Not that this is what they should do, but what they all actually do. I can’t really hold it against one candidate any more than the others.

    What I’d prefer is that they just say, “Oh yeah. I really blew that. Sorry.” I’m not holding my breath.

    Pieter,

    Thank you so much for that. It’s been presented that way so often, I didn’t even think to question it. You’d think someone would have mentioned it somewhere along the way. This really bothers me, both the fact of the matter, and my failure to double check it.

    It’s good to see you around again. I’ve also just heard a clip where Senator Clinton has said something to the effect of “If I had it to do over again, I’d not give him that power,” and basically said just what you did.

    I’m greatly relieved by that. It really bothered me that I hadn’t heard her say that she’d do it differently.

    Greg,

    Had you asked this just a month or two ago, there would not be even a second’s hesitation. Yes. Without a doubt, as I was supremely happy with both of the extant Democratic candidates.

    As the race goes on, I’m becoming more and more concerned with Senator Obama, and less and less happy with him as the potential Democratic nominee.

    Nevertheless, after all is said and done, I cannot in good conscience stand idly by while another theocratic Republican is put into the White House. That means that given the options, yes. This blog will endorse a less-than-optimal candidate, a candidate with which we are less than thrilled, rather than sit quietly on the sidelines.

    After 8 years of inexorable march toward an Orwellian Theocracy, and 4 more the alternative, the stakes are just too high not to support the Democratic Party’s nominee, whoever that may be.

  11. carlsonjok says:

    Good news! A video has surfaced that vindicates her remembrance of being under sniper fire in Bosnia.

  12. JanieBelle says:

    Heh. Thanks for pointing me to that site, Carlson.

    Barely Political has some pretty good videos.

  13. Uncle Al says:

    04 November 2008!
    It is incompetent fascists, corporatists, and double-digit IQ christ-besotted jackasses against bleeding heart Liberals, welfare pimps, Enviro-whiners, feminazis, and Queer Nation.

    Choose the candidate with the longest erect penis. That gives Hllary Ramrod Clinton a fair competition – which is discriminatory.

  14. Mirren says:

    SO GLAD I FOUND YOU!!! just started reading, and support for Hillary Clinton drew me in. i feel so alone out here. it seems like Senator Clinton is being disparaged for even daring to draw breath! Anyone witnessing her run for President should be impressed by her ability to stand up and take such crap. isn’t *that* enough? if Obama is the nominee or manages to be elected President, it won’t be pretty. i’m black, and i like him enourmously, but shit – he won’t know what hit him. then i will have to decide – should i be a bitter bit of baggage and say “i told you so?” or should i keep my mouth shut and continue to work for change?

  15. JanieBelle says:

    That’s an interesting perspective, Uncle Al.

    Mirren,

    I’m glad you found me, too! What really bugs me is that public discussion of Senator Clinton almost always reads like it was written by Rush Limbaugh or Ann Coulter, even discussion by a large percentage of Democrats.

    In your scenario, I’d go with “I told you so”.

    Thanks for reading, I hope you’ll hang around. You kind of found me whilst I’m in a rather un-verbose mood, but I’ll be back to my usual self soon, I think.

  16. mike says:

    >>Is it the President’s job to always do what they feel is the right thing, or is >>the President beholden to the will of the people in every case?

    Well for me, when I’m being completely honest, it boils down to I think the president should go with the majority when I’m in it and do the brave thing when I’m not. That is obviously ridiculous so I don’t know. Maybe the responsibility of the president is to do what is right even if it is unpopular and the public’s job is to make sure it’s not an easy decision. If the president really believes that they’re doing the right thing they should be willing to lose power to do it.

    >>I can’t really hold it against one candidate any more than the others.
    True. It can be too easy to say all politicians do it though. I get the same response from various friends when I suggest that the current administration has been particularly egregious. Also, when I wrote the previous comment the two events in the news were the sniper fire business and the race speech so the contrast was pretty high in my mind.

    Either way, given the pretty minor differences in actual policy positions though I do think it’s a shame that everyone is getting so bent out of shape about who wins. I am trying to resist radicalization on the issue.

    Actually pretty much any likely result of the next presidential election is way better than the last 8 years. Even McCain (cringe) is a vast improvement just in terms of his positions on the abuse of executive power, the importance of allies and our image in the world, etc even if not on social issues. As far as social issues go I’ve been extremely disappointed with the democrats on issues like marriage rights anyway.

  17. acharya says:

    One wonders whether Americans feel greater guilt regarding injustice to blacks vis-a-vis injustice to women!

  18. JanieBelle says:

    mike,

    Sorry I’ve been a little tied up and unmotivated lately at the same time. It’s not a combination that’s conducive to blog tending.

    Thank you for the well thought out comment. You only really lost me with the McBush thing. I really don’t think he’ll be any better than Dubya, but if he somehow winds up in office, I hope you’re right.

    acharya,

    Perhaps you should elaborate a little.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,814 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
