UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

One Hundred Pages

I’ve been pretty quiet in the blogoverse lately. There’s a couple reasons for that. For one thing, I’ve just been in a quiet mood. Not down or anything, just quiet.

For another, I’ve been making progress on my novel, The Lilith Quotient. I was stuck for the longest time. I had some vague ideas of things I wanted to do, but each time I tried to implement them, they just came out crappy. Recently the massive mental block I had began to crack and words began to flow a little better.

Some of the issue is anal retentiveness, I think. I made some notes throughout the copy I had in hand, like “add this here” or “rewrite this transition” with the intent of moving the story along and then coming back to clean up a little. Unfortunately, as they accumulated, they sat in the back of my mind, nagging me to distraction, so I couldn’t write chapter seven because I was distracted by something back in chapter three.

I finally just forced myself to begin at the beginning, and tend to every single note before I moved on. I looked at the first note. I stared at it. I read and re-read all the text leading up to that note. Days passed. Hair grew six inches on my legs. Presidents came and went, and still I stared at that note. I finally had an idea about it, ran with it, wrote it down. It sucked, but it was forward progress. I reworked it. Better. I reworked it again, better still. I stared, I thought, they fed me liver and macaroni and cheese with a tube. I worked at it. I got it to where I could live with it and move on.

I made a point of reading all your blogs once in the morning and once at night, and only commenting if I just couldn’t control myself. The withdrawal symptoms wracked my body and mind, but I persevered through the pain. I got a feed reader to lessen the temptation and speed up my surfing. The notes called to me.

The next note went a little easier, and the next one easier than that. I re-read the text from beginning to the next note. I made more notes, then addressed them.

After much work, I’m proud to say I’ve taken care of all the notes and I’m moving forward. Yesterday, I cracked a hundred pages, and the story is still moving. It’ll still need work when I’m done, but it’s together enough that it’s not nagging me anymore. Words have always come easily to me, so this is entirely outside my experience. I think it’s just a matter of the length. I’ve never attempted to write anything so very long as a novel.

I sent out a couple of copies for feedback, and I’ve gotten a few suggestions and assists.

Now my blog is collecting cobwebs, and it’s beginning to nag at me, so I’m posting this as much to shut my brain the frack up as much as I am to give you an update. I limited my time for this post to five minutes, so forgive me if it’s a little rough.

I’m happy now. I’m going back to the novel.

Filed under: About, Corporal Kate, Education, Literature, Literature and Literotica, Sex, Space Travel, , , , , ,

11 Responses

  1. Amanda says:

    Janie! I’m sad that I wasn’t included in the group that you sent copies to.

    Now I’ll just have to go somewhere and cry…

    But I am excited you’re making progress!

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Aw, I was just worried that if I kept sending you copies, you’d get bored with it.

    It’s on the way.

  3. Kym says:

    I think you have something there. I’ll go back and fix the notes on my novel and maybe I’ll finally be able to make some progress.

  4. blipey says:

    Yeah progress, a strangely elusive things at the damndest times. Simpler is better often times, that way when you decide to rebel and embellish it is for a good cause. That’s my only advice (as I am not a writer) and it may not be any good!

  5. you’re a better woman than i gunga din.
    your obsession over the notes cracked me up.

    a novel? my god i cannot comprehend taking on such a massive task.
    not with my own ocd behavior.
    and i know you know what i mean.

    you are an inspiration. over 100 pages?!
    neigh not an inspiration. a heroine.
    keep us all posted

    xo
    ~r

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Hey, glad I could help Kym!

    That seems like good advice, blipey. I’ll keep it in mind, thank you.

    Rachael Darling, you are making me blush. I just hope it winds up quality stuff rather than trite drivel.

  7. This sounds very much to me like God has moved you. I’m more convinced than ever that should you accept Jesus the Lord as your Personal friend and Savior, you could get up to 700 pages in no time at all.

    Unless you are writing about smut. I doubt He’d help you with even a word of that.

    -RPTH

  8. JanieBelle says:

    Oh, Rev. Hipple, Jesus moved me. In fact, I felt the whole earth move.

    Are you absolutely sure you don’t want to hear my confession? The last priest to hear my confession felt it was spiritually defining for him.

  9. WhoreChurch says:

    Good for you. I am anxious to see it in print.

  10. Marteen says:

    You concentrate your creative effort on whatever you feel you have to dear. Glad things are flowing for you.
    My novel has been put aside because I feel I want to concentrate my efforts on the blogosphere at the moment. I am sure I will go back to it when the time is right.

  11. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks you two.

    Get back to it when you can, Marteen.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 398,046 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
