UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Who Would Jesus Vote For in ’08? The Republican Edition

A peek above our garters to Kevin at the church for this:

I find it really odd that Christians are Conservative Republicans, when the Republican Party platform is so at odds with the teachings of Jesus. That video ain’t the half of it.

Jesus was a hippy, a flaming liberal. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that he’d be well left of the Democrats. You’re not likely to hear that mentioned much at all in any church I’ve ever been to, though.

I’m going to talk seriously about religion here for a moment so if that bores you it’s time to stop reading, but it bears directly on the political discussion.

(It’s below the fold.)

Here’s the thing – the Bible says all sorts of dumb things, like disrespectful children should be stoned to death. The reason given by Christians as to why that law shouldn’t be enforced is invariably something along the lines of “Oh that was under the Old Covenant, we’re under the New Covenant”, and to support that view they quote a handful of verses. Generally speaking, the rule is that if it’s repeated by Jesus, it’s still in force.

Funny that Jesus never mentioned gay marriage. To support the Fundy Christian view on that, one has to go back to a few verses in the Old Testament.

Funny that Jesus never mentioned abortion. The fundy view is based on the premise that an unborn fetus is equivalent to a human being, thus falls under the “Thou shalt do no murder” clause (which Jesus did indeed repeat). Strangely though, Jesus never said anything about unborn fetuses being the same as people. You’d think that on such an important issue he would have, and he’d be clear on it.

Does the Bible ever say anything about the value of a fetus?

I’m glad you asked.

It does:

“And if men struggle and strike a woman with child so that she has a miscarriage, yet there is no further injury, he shall be fined as the woman’s husband may demand of him, and he shall pay as the judges decide. But if there is any further injury, then you shall appoint as a penalty life for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, burn for burn, wound for wound, bruise for bruise.”

Exodus 21:22-25

Odd. That doesn’t at all seem to mesh with the fundy Christian / conservative Republican platform. It’s quite clear here that the Bible doesn’t equate a fetus with a human being. So (big surprise) the fundies just made that up and attributed it to God. Aren’t there penalties for putting words in God’s mouth?

I guess there are a few points here:

The Bible, even if taken literally as The Word of God (not recommended in any case), doesn’t support the “values” of today’s church, or the Republican Party.

Fundy Christians don’t read that book with which they love to beat other people over the head. They don’t live their lives by it, because they don’t even know what’s in it. Mostly, they just quote a few verses here and there to support a view that someone else told them is biblical.

So, who would Jesus vote for in ’08? I don’t know, but I’m willing to bet it wouldn’t be a Republican.

For whom will I vote?  Let me first tell you for whom I will NOT vote, as I once posted at Amanda’s digs:

I will NOT vote for an anti-abortion rights/anti-women’s equality candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-gay rights candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-peace candidate. (ie withdrawal from Iraq and stay out of Syria, Iran, and N. Korea or you don’t get my vote.)

I will NOT vote for an anti-science candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-environment candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-poor/average American candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-free speech candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-sexual freedom candidate.

I will NOT vote for an anti-separation of church and state candidate.

Yes, that leaves me with a rather small field of candidates. None of them are Republicans, pretty much by definition.

Stay tuned for my thoughts on the Democrats.

Filed under: Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Entertainment, Friends, Fundies, Peace, Politics, Religion, Video, YouTube, , ,

7 Responses

  1. WhoreChurch says:

    Good post. Too bad most people’s faith has no basis in logical thought. Though I may try to work out my own faith with some rationality, it’s highly possible mine is no better or only marginally better.

    Today I have been pondering how my personal faith, based on portions of the Bible, has any more validity than the faith of those who choose different portions of the Bible to practice.

    At some point (after the New Year) I will likely write a post or two about it. Unless it makes me look bad, then I will tuck it away and not speak of it again.

    The only thing consistent about the Bible is its inconsistencies.

    Thanks for the “peek”.

  2. Kym says:

    Heck, Most Republicans I know claim to support fiscal conservatism–uhh George Bush–the deficit? Any Republican want to explain why they voted for this jerk–twice.

    I’m not saying Democrats are perfect but I’m seriously worried about how much glue most Republicans sniff on a daily basis.

  3. […]And the “Jesus is on my side” crowd is universally full of shit.Wish I could say the Democrats were significantly better.

    All I guess we can do is make sure that every single homosexual, swinger, pot smoker, Mexican, Muslim, scientist, human rights advocate, pacifist, nonreligious, or environmentalist votes for the farthest-left candidate who actually has a chance.[…]

  4. JanieBelle says:

    You’re welcome Kevin, and thank you for your thoughtful comments. I always appreciate your unique talents at introspection.

    Kym said,

    I’m not saying Democrats are perfect but I’m seriously worried about how much glue most Republicans sniff on a daily basis.

    Either that or ‘ludes. Maybe mushrooms.

    There’s definitely an “alternate history” and an “alternate reality” thing going on in Republican circles. Scary that the party that waves the flag in everyone’s face is the one that has consistently betrayed the Republic the most egregiously.

  5. Amanda says:

    Who would Jesus vote for? I have no idea. Who will I vote for? I still have no idea.

    I have to agree with you though – generally speaking, conservative Republicans don’t follow the platform of Jesus. Most people don’t, but it does appear to be more hypocritical for the folks who claim to be the Christian party, doesn’t it?

  6. JanieBelle says:

    It does, Amanda.

    Happy New Year to you, I hope your visit here at home was wonderful, and your Christmas magical. The weather has certainly been fantastic Down East.

    I have a candidate in mind, and I’m almost to the point that I won’t have to hold my nose whilst voting, but that is of course subject to change with new information. It’s terribly unfortunate that my choice is determined by process of elimination.

    It’s not supposed to work that way.

    Kisses to you.

  7. […] fggbfgA while back, I promised my thoughts on the Democrats. Former Senator John Edwards has since withdrawn from the race for the nomination, […]

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,961 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
