UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

From Namaste to Shimmy to Mambo

Belly dancer, by The Kosovar @ FlickrConfession: I try to catch Namaste Yoga on FitTV whenever I can.

Disclaimer: I try to ignore all the “energy leaving your body through the third eye” mumbo jumbo and treat it as nothing more than a visualization for relaxing. It works OK for me. I really enjoy doing the exercise and listening to the voice of the instructor. Her voice really soothes me and sort of makes the whole thing work.

I’ve mentioned before, and our posting habits pretty well reflect that while Kate is an early bird, I’m a night owl. Grace is a little of both, but mostly a night owl. She stayed over last night, and while channel surfing I flipped past FitTV sometime around 0:dark30, and something new was just coming on: Shimmy.

Shimmy is sort of yoga meets belly dance, so being such a fan of Kristine, I had to jump right in. Kate’s used to our doing Namaste at odd hours of the dead of night, so it rarely elicits more than a muffled appreciation of a particular body position Grace and I might be in when she peeks from behind her tousled locks of obsidian satin hair with one half-opened eye. (That is unless she’s in need of some attention.) For whatever reason, last night was a little different.

I don’t know if she was already partially awake, or if the word “shimmy” just snapped her out of rapturous coma, but by the time the warm-ups were over and the instructor had our heads sliding from side to side, Kate was all eyes.

“C’mon! Shimmy lessons!”

“Uh uh, I’m watching.”

I have to say that the movements – the hands, the head, the hips – were very sexy feeling, and very sexy looking on Grace. I don’t think Kate even blinked. It wasn’t terribly difficult, and I think I was picking it up pretty well too. Within a few minutes, I didn’t even have to look at the TV much, just listen to the instructor.

At the end of the program, the instructor told us to improvise, but we were way ahead of her.

I really should have snatched that belly dancer costume at the Halloween store, but Kate says the tap pants and camisoles we were in worked just fine for her. She’s sleeping in this morning. Apparently, our instruction of Kate in the art of Belly Dance was somewhat more… vigorous… than the TV instructor’s.

I hope that’s OK.

From whence came the art:

That image is titled Belly dancer, by The Kosovar.

Filed under: Amazing Grace, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Corporal Kate, Education, Friends, Romance, Sex, Video, , ,

6 Responses

  1. Kristine says:

    I’m so proud of you both! 🙂

  2. JanieBelle says:

    It really was fun! Have you seen it yet? How does it compare to “real” belly dancing? I’d love to hear how it stacks up.

  3. Berlzebub says:

    Princess has been taking bellydancing lessons for a few weeks. She enjoys the exercise and I enjoy the outfits. So, I can sympathize with Kate.

    I’ll have to see if we get fittv on DirectTV. I found a schedule for showings, too.

  4. JanieBelle says:

    Hi Berlzebub,

    Oh it’s a blast! I saw the schedule, but I wanted to find a page for the show, and then forgot about the schedule when I didn’t find the page. whoops. Thanks.

    My only real complaint about the show is that the instructor’s voice bothers me. It’s like she’s giving commands like a drill instructor:

    “hips up. arms out. cross wrists.” etc.

    The Namaste instructor’s voice is like liquid chocolate, smooth and dreamy and relaxing.

  5. Kristine says:

    Dear, “real” belly dancing is however you do it! I haven’t seen the program but as long as watchers do it, it’s “right!”

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Oh, well we’re definitely “doing it”, Dear.

    …and it sure feels right to me!

    😉

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,813 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
