UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Erotic Literature

Foto Aun sin titulo.Have you read any good erotic literature lately?

I’ve never been very happy with the final chapter of The Itch. I really like the story up until the last chapter, and eventually I’m going to rewrite the final scene and give it a better ending.

In the meantime, I’m writing The Lilith Quotient as a novel. Although it’s sexy, it’s much less explicit so far than the early version posted on this blog. I’d call it Sexy Sci-Fi, but it might fit the description of Erotic Literature, and that concerns me a little for several inter-related reasons.

Basically, it boils down to this: being labeled “Erotic Literature” seems to be a death knell for a story, and if nobody buys it, nobody reads it, and that sort of defeats the purpose of writing it, doesn’t it? I’m sure there is a philosophical discussion involved there, but one of the big reasons I write is because I have an inner drive to share my thoughts and stories. I want people to read them. If nobody reads them, I might just as well talk to myself and save a lot of typing. (Let’s just not even go there with a philosophical discussion of JanieBelle talking to herself in her head. It’s still too early in the morning for that.)

Anyway, back to Erotic Literature. Why do such titles get skipped? I think there’s a whole chain of things, and again they’re all interlinked.


First, if it even gets carried, erotic literature gets shelved separately from non-erotic literature of the same genre. I have no idea why that is, or who gets to draw the arbitrary line between what is and is not erotic. To me, it makes no sense. Is there a manual out there that says “this many sex scenes” or “if it uses this word more than twice within 25 pages” or “if there’s any doggiestyle goin’ on…”?

Secondly, in a vicious circle kind of way, I think most erotic literature just sucks. And the reason it sucks is that most talented or well established and respected writers avoid the genre like the plague, because it simply won’t sell. And it won’t sell because it’s separated out and gets skipped over or not carried at all.

So what we end up with are cheesy, predictable piles of tripe from Harlequin, and “stuff written by guys”. Now, I want to be specific here: I’m using that as a single descriptor. Not all guys suck at erotica or anything, but there is a certain style of writing that is identifiably written by really crappy erotica writers who happen to be male.

“I walked in with my sweaty muscles bulging and my huge cock throbbing through my pants and the entire female staff of the Cirque de Soleil performed impossible acrobatics while I pumped them full of jizz for three days running.”

Whatever.

I know you’ve read that crap before, don’t lie. And it sucked, didn’t it? There’s simply no suspension of disbelief involved there. I can’t read it without squinching up my face and saying, “The author is either 14 or 41 and still living with Mom.”

What really pisses me off is that even if I get it for free, I’ve wasted valuable time and not gotten what I came for (or didn’t cum for, to be accurate). And I really hate when I find one good short story in an anthology, and I want to buy it, but I have to pay for all the garbage that comes with it. Book stores tend to have this ridiculous policy about not tearing just the story I want out of the anthologies. I’m not sure what’s up with that, but you’d think I could get a discount if I only buy the story I want, right?

No sense of humor, those people.

God, I hope The Lilith Quotient doesn’t wind up like that. I’m really working on telling a story which happens to have some sexy bits in it, rather than little Bobby’s 14 year old fantasy of schtooping everything that moves with his rock hard 27 inch jackhammer-like piston.

Anyway, I’ve said all that to ask a question.

In the process of writing my novel, I’m wondering if anyone has run across some good erotic literature. Read any lately? Who’s good and who sucks? What made you like this but hate that? Lay it on me in the comments.

From whence came the art:

That photograph is titled Foto Aun sin titulo. by Annabelle Handoek.

Filed under: Erotica, Literature, Literature and Literotica, Sex

9 Responses

  1. Martyne says:

    We both seem to be in the mood for a major rant today. Mine was about stamps, and your’s involved erotic literature! I really should get out more. The “27 inch jackhammer-like piston” sounds great on paper but I think it would probably involve a long and painful period of hospitalisation in the real world.

  2. Amanda says:

    I’ve heard good things about the Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey, but I haven’t read it myself.

    Did you know that Dracula is considered erotica literature at BN.com? Weird.

    In my opinion, your story is akin to Diana Gabaldon’s books (the Outlander series, if you’ve not heard of her) – it contains sex, but the story isn’t about the sex.

  3. Amanda says:

    I’ve heard good things about the Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey, but I haven’t read it myself.

    Did you know that Dracula is considered erotica literature at BN.com? Weird.

    In my opinion, your story is akin to Diana Gabaldon’s books (the Outlander series, if you’ve not heard of her) – it contains sex, but the story isn’t about the sex.

  4. JanieBelle says:

    That is high praise indeed, Amanda. I’ve never read the Outlander series, but I believe I shall.

    After looking her up and checking out the reviews at Amazon, I had to chuckle. Of all the customer reviews on the first page, only one didn’t give the book five stars.

    A. Russo had this complaint:

    When I read the line, “The lad had nice feelings”, I should have shut the book and returned it to the library immediately. But I plugged on and finished the whole thing if for no other reason than to be able to confidently silence those who might tell me that it gets better or that I really needed to read the whole thing to fully appreciate it. Well, I read the whole thing and I hated it.

    I had planned to write an in-depth review, revealing everything I felt was wrong with this book, but it was getting to be a novel in and of itself. Suffice it to say……….

    This books is not about romance. It’s not about time travel. It’s not an historical novel. It’s about Claire and Jamie boinking like rabbits across the Highlands with a series of sadistic beatings and rapes (man on woman, man on man, and nearly husband on wife) to break up the monotony of the tiresome sex.

    Make sure to read all of the one-star reviews here before you waste your time on this one……..

    Guess it’s fairly evident what A.’s problem is. Think I can count on A. to purchase a copy of The Lilith Quotient? 😆

  5. Berlzebub says:

    @Janiebelle:

    (Let’s just not even go there with a philosophical discussion of JanieBelle talking to herself in her head. It’s still too early in the morning for that.)

    At least you admit it’s yourself. Some estimates say that 85% of our country think they’re talking to someone else.
    @Amanda:

    Did you know that Dracula is considered erotica literature at BN.com? Weird.

    Quite a few of your more ‘prudish’ populace consider anything with vampires as being erotic. That biting of the neck thing turns quite a few people on. (Just wait until they find out about the femoral arteries potential. They’ll faint from the possibilities.)

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Yep, and did you know that until rather recently, Dracula was mostly printed in an edited version in the U.S.?

    I’m all about sucking around the femoral arteries, but I bet y’all knew that.

  7. mollishka says:

    I’ve read all of the Kushiel books except the latest (still in hardcover…. grr). I definitely enjoyed all of them, especially the first three. The erotic parts are very well done (and extremely sexy), and the actual story is gripping, exciting, and even somewhat original (though be warned: the first half of the first book takes some getting through, but after that I couldn’t put it down).

    Now: anyone have suggestions other than the Kushiel series (or Dracula, though I haven’t heard of the Outlander series either)?

  8. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks for that mollishka!

    I’ll add those to my list.

    Kisses

  9. […] First 507 The Big Green Marker 507 Speaking of A+ Kisses 498 Beachius Interruptus Per Coitus 480 Erotic Literature 472 The Green Green Hills of Earth, by Deacon Barry 466 The Pampering of JanieBelle 461 Quietly […]

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 398,016 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
