UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Not Ready To Back Down

Michelle Vitt, Local Non-KisserMichelle Vitt doesn’t kiss. She tells us that she has willingly forsaken the joys of kissing until such time as she is wedded. I told you that her decision was not made willingly.

I said what she’s been through fits any reasonable definition of abuse. I said it. I said it here, and I said it at Sex in the Public Square, where I crossposted Kissing Michelle Vitt.

In a discussion that looks like it’s about to get lively over at SitPS, Chelsea Summers admonished me about my tone, whether it was appropriate in this instance and whether it would achieve the goal of advancing positivism toward sex in our culture. She also inferred that my “hostility” was directed at Michelle, and implied that perhaps I was as intolerant of personal sexual expression as the religious fundamentalists involved.

More below the fold.

After a bit of discussion, and a weekend of reflection, I have to say no. I am saying no, I was not too strident, not too vocal, not too shrill. No, I will not be polite, I will not sit quietly while religious fanatics brainwash children, I will not continue the past course of gentle urging to get my point across. For over a hundred years, the disease of fundamentalist religion has slowly eaten away at this enlightenment-based country, festering like a infected boil, oozing and spreading cancer to formerly healthy organs of our national identity. For over a hundred years, polite and educated discussion on the topic has yielded net losses to free speech, free exercise of religion (or lack thereof), free sexual expression.

Michelle did not make this choice freely and independently, she made it under the coercive duress of her environment. Michelle Vitt’s emotional growth was deliberately stunted, her mind deliberately closed, her education sequestered, and her brain washed with fundamentalist bullshit. In short, she was abused by a cult.

I stand by that statement.

Further, that situation is directly due to deceptive and harmful mis-education for a very specific religious agenda, which was foisted on her by her parents and aided by her church. Michelle is a victim, and she is a public one. I have never implied otherwise, and my castigation is clearly directed at a system of stifling and overwhelming indoctrination which she had no opportunity to reject. To read my remarks otherwise is to do so in ignorance, illiteracy, or willful incomprehension.

For the record, I did not seek out someone to flail, I did not go looking for an innocent to tongue lash. Michelle is in the public eye because she chose to be there, and the Jacksonville Daily News chose to put her there. My comments are a public opinion on a situation that Michelle herself put in the public domain.

I’m not ready to make nice,

I’m not ready to back down,

I’m mad as Hell

and I don’t have time

To go ’round and ’round and ’round.

It’s too late to make it right,

I prob’ly wouldn’t if I could,

I’m mad as Hell

Can’t bring myself

To do what it is you think I should.

Get over it.

(Originally posted at UDoJ here, regarding this post, but it fits well here as well.)

Full lyrics:

Not Ready to Make Nice
Dixie Chicks
Taking the Long Way

Forgive, sounds good.
Forget, I’m not sure I could.
They say time heals everything,
But I’m still waiting

I’m through, with doubt,
There’s nothing left for me to figure out,
I’ve paid a price, and i’ll keep paying

I’m not ready to make nice,
I’m not ready to back down,
I’m still mad as hell
And I don’t have time
To go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is
You think I should

I know you said
Why can’t you just get over it,
It turned my whole world around
and i kind of like it

I made by bed, and I sleep like a baby,
With no regrets and I don’t mind saying,
It’s a sad sad story
That a mother will teach her daughter
that she ought to hate a perfect stranger.
And how in the world
Can the words that I said
Send somebody so over the edge
That they’d write me a letter
Saying that I better shut up and sing
Or my life will be over

I’m not ready to make nice,
I’m not ready to back down,
I’m still mad as hell
And I don’t have time
To go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is
You think I should

I’m not ready to make nice,
I’m not ready to back down,
I’m still mad as hell
And I don’t have time
To go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is
You think I should

Forgive, sounds good.
Forget, I’m not sure I could.
They say time heals everything,
But I’m still waiting

Filed under: Biology, Education, Entertainment, Fundies, Music Video, Rants, Religion, Romance, Science, Sex, Video

8 Responses

  1. good for you. Never back down if you believe your right.

    I agree with you btw.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Thank you CJ. I appreciate your support.

    Kisses

  3. Musicguy says:

    well said, my dear. I completely agree with you. Stand proud and give them hell- the world needs you more than you know!

  4. JanieBelle says:

    Oh my Dear Musicguy,

    I have so missed seeing your name here.

    I’ve been so busy with projects of my own, a few I was asked to help on, trying to keep up with SitPS, Aunt Helen stuff, and now The Boy and his issues, I feel like I’m neglecting this blog, and have barely managed to do any pleasure surfing at all.

    I hope things are well with you and G, I promise to drop by your place this evening to see what you’ve been up to.

    Great Big Kisses

  5. Amanda says:

    I’m going to have disagree. But you know that, of course. Regardless of what she has been taught, she still has the choice to decide what she wants to do. She grew up in America. She grew up seeing what other choices she could possibly made, and when she came of age she chose to stick by what she had been taught. Not everyone does that. So the decision is on her, not on whoever “brainwashed” her.

  6. JanieBelle says:

    That’s just my point, Amanda.

    She grew up NOT seeing other choices. It’s the whole point of the fundamentalist movement’s fervent push for home schooling.

    Home schooling, pushing the church singles groups, church 52 times a week, restricting socialization to similarly sequestered children of like-minded parents.

    These are not just religious folks, they are beyond devout. I’m not railing on Christianity in general here, but rather the extreme sects whose products include folks like WOMI. I’m telling you this girl was brought up by a pair of WOMIs, and stood no chance of independent thought.

    Kisses

    P.S.

    Are you done posting about Harry Potter yet? I’m not coming over until all the Harry Potter stuff is off the front page.

  7. Musicguy says:

    This whole thing is the crux of my thesis. Hegemony exists in every facet of life and it is not pretty. People are led to THINK they have a choice, when in reality they are bowing to the pressures of the dominant class, in this woman’s case, the religious class. This does not happen through overt coersion, but rather through CONSENSUAL social practices!

    You can read my statement of the problem here.

    http://musicguy2723.blogspot.com/2007/07/sick-of-school.html

  8. Musicguy,

    I will make sure SleepyBelle sees that. She was up late making my blog pretty. Then she um… needed my attention for a while.

    Late turned into early.

    She’ll be sleeping til noon.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,883 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
