UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows(Don’t worry. No spoilers here. And the first one of you who even hints at anything in the story gets a kick in the shin. Just so y’know.)

So the plan was to spend the last two weeks re-reading J. K. Rowling’s engaging tale of the little orphaned muggle boy who suddenly discovers he’s a wizard. It’s a wonderful yarn that appeals to our childhood fantasies of one day being informed we are next in line for the throne, that we are not ordinary or average at all, but rather very special princesses and princes – only better. In the case of this fabulous fairy tale, we get to have magic.

By the time Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was released this morning, I expected to be just finishing up Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and could thus move right on through the story continuously.

Well, events unfolded (as they tend to do) in unforeseen twists, and I am only half-way through Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. In between sessions of writing and re-writing The Lilith Quotient (which barely resembles the version on this blog now), I zipped right through the Sorcerer’s Stone (or Philosopher’s Stone on the far side of The Big Puddle), merrily moved through the Chamber of Secrets, and was freely flowing through Prisoner of Azkaban.

Then, as some of you know, Aunt Helen – Savior of Thanksgivingfell ill. She got better, got worse, got better, got worse. She’s looking and sounding much better, but the long-term prognosis is not so good. I may give a better accounting of her condition a little later, or I may just let The Boy handle that. I’m kind of having issues discussing that myself.

So, despite the fact that I still have half of Prisoner of Azkaban left, and Goblet of Fire, Order of the Phoenix, and Half-Blood Prince still ahead, I was there. I was there before the doors opened. For the first time in my life, I was standing in the line before the sales clerk’s key entered the lock to begin the day of business.

My pre-paid express line voucher in hand, my palms all sweaty, my nasty recurring headache raging behind my eye, I was there. No coffee yet, no shower yet (it was a very late night of restlessness – please forgive me all you Jacksonvillians who stood downwind), barely a lick and a promise to my rat’s nest of hair, I braved the freezing cold 75 degree weather, and secured The Precious.

It is mine, and you can’t have it.

Filed under: Entertainment, Literature

13 Responses

  1. Amanda says:

    I hate you. 🙂 Mine hasn’t come yet. According to UPS.com it’s been “in transit to final destination” since 11 yesterday morning. I should so still be asleep right now, but I can’t sleep in anticipation of the UPS man knocking on my door. *sigh*

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Nanner Nanner Boo Boo!

    😉

  3. Martyne says:

    Sorry to hear the headache is still bothering you, my dear Janie. I hope it passes soon. If you want more H P goss then please visit me. And please sort out that smug Deacon Barry and his meme. I need your help.

  4. Amanda says:

    5 hours. It tooke me 5 hours to finish it. It was incredible! That’s all I’ll say. 🙂

  5. i bought mine as an afterthought at Kroger’s. 40% off. last one on the shelf. Life is like that for me

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Martyne, I’ll be there when I can. I’m spending a bit of time visiting Aunt Helen in the hospital, and the headache has eased up for the moment, but I’m not counting any chickens just yet.

    As for you other two…

    isohateyouboth.

    (jk) 😛

    Kisses

  7. Amanda says:

    Oh, but we love you, JanieBelle. 🙂

  8. JanieBelle says:

    Oh and you know I love you, too.

    But now I can’t visit your blog because I clicked there early this morning and found a post on Deathly Hallows.

    I destroyed the mouse trying to click the back button before I accidentally saw something.

    I have to wait ’til that drops off the front page now.

    😦

    Kisses

  9. Martyne says:

    I am so thinking about Aunt Helen. I wish her all the best. My sentiments are with you JanieBelle and I look forward to a favourable outcome. I only want the best for you and yours.

  10. JanieBelle says:

    Thank you Martyne.

    I’m just back from the hospital. She’s sleeping.

    Yesterday she was sitting on the edge of the bed, which is hopeful.

    Kisses

  11. […] As I mentioned a few posts ago, Aunt Helen, Savior of Thanksgiving and Feeder of Stray Marines in Need, has recently fallen ill. […]

  12. I agree with you! its a great book, but too bad it ends…I feel so empty putting it down after so many years waiting for it…

  13. JanieBelle says:

    Hi Anton!

    Oh, don’t you dare say another word! I STILL haven’t managed to get to it, what with Aunt Helen’s funeral and all.

    I’ll be sure to let you know what I thought once I’ve finished, though.

    Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,878 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
