UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Return Of The Random Reading Meme

I’m reading The Selfish Gene, by Richard DawkinsThis is a delayed post, for reasons discussed in the previous post.

Whilst thumbing through the UDoJ archives, I came across this old meme:

1. grab the nearest book. no cheating! the nearest book.
2. open the book to page 123.
3. find the fifth sentence
4. post the text of the next four sentences on your blog, along with these instructions.
5. don’t you dare dig for a cool or intellectual book on your shelf. pick out whatever is closest!

I happened to have a copy of The Selfish Gene by Richard Dawkins on the desk the first time.

As it happens, I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, but that’s not the closest book at hand. Something much more obscure resides upon my desk at the moment. Let’s play again, just for fun…

It was the monk himself who at last broke the spell of the absolute stillness.

“You wonder,” he said, slowly, “at the reason of my coming here, to you who are a recreant from the mystic tie of our brotherhood, to you who have employed the most sacred and venerable secrets of our Order to wrest from Life and Nature the material for your own self-interested labors. You think I come for information, you think I wish to hear from your own lips the results of your scientific scheme of supernatural ambition. Alas, El-Rami Zaranos! how little you know me!”

Here’s a bit of a hint. The only date in the edition I hold in my hands is the copyright date: 1892, by United States Book Company. This book belonged to my great grandfather, and as far as I can know, it might be a first edition, as the only other publisher’s information in it is:

New York

Lovell, Coryell & Company

310-318 Sixth Avenue.

Filed under: Literature, Memes, Time Sink

6 Responses

  1. Martyne says:

    Richard Dawkins again JanieBelle! I think you have a bit of a thing for him. Is it just his mind you are after or do you have desires involving the other end of his body as well? I will give your meme a go as soon as I have finished this.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Heh. No, I didn’t write that clearly enough Martyne. I was reading Dawkins the first time, but not this time.

    Kisses

  3. Martyne says:

    Will have to put the illustrious Mr Dawkins aside for one moment. It seems that Harry Potter is going to take over the world for the next week. First it was the opening of the fifth movie last week, and now we have the publishing of the seventh and last book on Saturday. Although Royal Mail are losing their contract with Amazon, it has hot happened yet and we are in for a very busy day. Whatever problems we have with the management at present there is no way we would spoil a kid’s enjoyment by not delivering the books on time. It is nice to have people waiting at the door for you and anticipating you’r arrival . The only time this usually happens is when exam results are sent out. It is so much more satisfying than handing people junk mail which they throw in the bin before I even leave the premises..

  4. Martyne says:

    Going back to your comment JanieBelle I fully understood what you were saying in your original post. All I was trying to say, and maybe it is my fault for being unclear, is that Mr Dawkins appears a lot in your writings and I was in a salacious frame of mind. I’ve not been getting a lot recently, well any actually, so can you blame me? George Clooney and Brad Pitt never phone, never write. Could that be because they don’t even know I exist?

  5. JanieBelle says:

    Those bastards! I specifically told them to call you.

    I am so pissed at them right now.

  6. […] Nearest Book Meme – This Time It’s Different Ok, the meme is the same as the last two times I did this, but Bob tagged me and this time my answer is kinda special. I don’t currently […]

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,883 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
