UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Kudos To WordPress

Thumbs UpAs most of you know, I have an ongoing issue with WordPress’ staff. (You can find most of the dispute chronicled here, along with some other posts I’ve made involving censorship.) It involves their pulling certain blogs from their internal listings, and mine, Kate’s and The Boy‘s are among them. (For the record, The Boy had nothing even mildly objectionable on his blog before he got yanked. It was just poetry and stuff about his family. He got censored for bitching about WP’s treatment of us. This blog and Kate’s were at most mildly suggestive before the censorship.)

The process is arbitrary, unfair, without notice, and without appeal. Some fundy doesn’t like what he finds on someone else’s blog, complains, the blog gets pulled.

However, I have always loved the software itself, and until I got silenced in the WordPress community I had nothing but praise for WordPress. In fact, WP’s superiority over Blogger was the whole reason I moved here, and I was extremely vocal about that both before and after the move.

To give credit where credit is due, one thing I and a bunch of other people disliked about the Sandbox theme was the lack of avatars in the comments, and you’ll note that the WP staff addressed that and added them a while back.

Just earlier today you may have noticed one other really big improvement for which I think WP deserves a big ol’ hug. They’ve added avatars to the recent comments box on the right side bar.

Kudos, WP. Good job. I love it already.

Now, about that censorship policy…

[UPDATE: Well it looks like there’s a bug in the code. Suddenly new comments aren’t showing up in the recent comments box. I’d tell them about it, but I’m pretty sure they’re just deleting my email on sight because of the dispute. I can’t really blame them, I was pretty unhinged as I tend to get when I’m pissed. I’m sure they’ll fix it soon, just keep your thong out of a knot. In fact, take it off and enjoy the breeze if it helps. 😉 ]

[SECOND UPDATE: That issue seems to have been resolved, as I was sure it would be.]

Filed under: About, Blogger Sucks, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Censorship, Corporal Kate, Fundies, Rants, Religion, Romance, Sex, UDoJ's Other Sites, WordPress

11 Responses

  1. JanieBelle says:

    Of course, now new comments aren’t showing up in the recent comments box…

    Well, sometimes you gotta be patient until they work the bugs out, I guess.

  2. damewiggy says:

    censorship really burns my lil ass, goddamnedsunnuvabitchinshitfuck! yay, free profanity!

  3. adam says:

    censorship still really blows, i haven’t changed my position on that. but given that internal promotion at blogspot is non-existent, there’s really no way that wp.com isn’t better than blogspot. since obviously your blog hasn’t dissappeared from the internets, just the global tag pages.

    still sucks, and the main reason i left, but still leaps and bounds better than google.

  4. JanieBelle says:

    I agree whole heartedly Adam. WP has every right to do as they please, as well. It’s their private property, as far as I can tell.

    That said, it’s rather ingenuous for them to proclaim ideals of non-censorship on the one hand, and prevent access to WordPress readers on the whim of some anonymous fundy on the other.

    I suspect I will eventually wind up with my own domain, for no other reason than the fear of arbitrary deletion at any time.

    Much, much better than Google’s Blogger on all other counts, it must be said.

  5. JanieBelle says:

    Mine too, Dame Wiggly Butt. Especially when the perpetrators are talking about freedom of expression out of the other side of their mouth.

    That’s usually the M.O. of fundy theocrats, interestingly enough.

    “You have the right to say anything you want that doesn’t displease us.”

  6. damewiggy says:

    They remind me of that skit where the irrational parent screams at the kid, ‘YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH when you’re TALKING TO ME!’

    bastids!

  7. JanieBelle says:

    Yeah, I’d find their utter lack of sense hysterical were it not for the fact that they wield so much power.

    Bastids indeed.

  8. damewiggy says:

    damn, i think wp is punishing me now — blog sabotage!

  9. damewiggy says:

    wasabe douched! they burned me!

    (oh, i’m so ill, that made me lol heartily)

  10. JanieBelle says:

    OUCH!

    (I’m LOLing too!)

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,825 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
