UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Contest Is Closed, Voting Is Here

Ok, the current poetry contest is now closed. Cast your votes here for your favorite.

Poems were submitted in the comments in the contest thread and can be found at Quietly Naked In The Pouring Rain, The Dying Lover, as well as below the fold here.

The assignment was:

An idea sprang into my head this morning that I thought you all might enjoy.

Kristine’s comment about Deacon Barry’s poem in our last contest inspired this idea.

How about we write several versions of the same event, from different points of view?

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to write a poem from the dying lover’s point of view.

Votes in this thread cast between now and 11:59 PM EDT (GMT -4 BST -5) July 7 will be counted.

The winner gets a guest post on UDoJ on whatever subject the winner chooses.

Good luck to our participants, and their poems are below the fold.

max

if i had known this
that i would die — ever cripes
i would drown you first

Kristine

(For voting purposes, let’s call this one Kristine One)

God is dead, and soon shall I be,
but not until you all hear from me!
It’s just a flesh wound, and my PEH
makes me invincible anyway!
You’re all losers, but I’m generous –
plug me at PZ’s and win my cuss!
I’m so old that I’ll take you on.
I’m a genius so tell me to get gone.
Ban me or a coward you be, oh
I’m almost Patton, I love it so!
I swear I didn’t touch that girl.
That ballerina surrealist Darwinian churl!
Probably a man, “she’s” too smart,
fingernails dirty from the local KMart.
You can stab me, but you can’t hide.
Go tell Elsberry’s Alamo I died!
We’ve got them on the run, in a snit,
VMartin, it’s hard to believe isn…?

Kristine

(For voting purposes, let’s call this one Kristine Two)

VMartin says he’s harmless.
“I didn’t threaten you, Kristine.”
Well, the worst is that he’s charmless.
I thought my rant a total scream!
But nevertheless, he stabbed JAD –
What an evening I have had!
I don’t care for either one.
T’was hoping they’d climb each other some!

silenceofcenturies

Quietly Naked in The Pouring Rain,
The Dying lover, the painter boy
Touched her face, the nooks of her body
Elbows, Shoulders, Breasts, Ankles.

His hands Traverse the expanse that is her
Gently trying to read the lines,
The joys and the sorrows she hides there
In the folds that only he can touch

He trashes his canvas, and spills the paint
He makes her walk, rainbowed footsteps
She makes her way to the gloom of his heart
Leaving behind softly coloured footfalls.

Slowly with fine strokes, he begins to work
Daubing at her with a new shade of darkness
When through, she is nowhere to be seen
Only a shade… blacker than black

Deacon Barry

I’m torn by Deacon Barry

I’m torn.
My killer’s serrations
Part my hyoid
Cut my scream
Divert my blood
To a fine spray
Draining……

I’m torn.
My wife’s deceit
Gnaws my heart.
My deceit
Gnaws my conscience.

I’m torn.
My husband flings
His wedding band
My lover waits
Naked in the pouring rain
The element of surprise
Favours him

I’m torn.
My lover flings
His wedding band
His rival dies
Naked in the pouring rain
All for love

d.vrai

Death of a Bartender

I swear,
I knew not his bullet would pierce my spleen.
I thought my hand quicker.

I fear,
We’ll not meet amongst the burnt gardens I’ll soon walk.
Your garden is sure to be light as the sun above.

I cry,
That I will pleasure you no more.
It is this that pleased me most.

I regret,
Dueling a man o’er spilt ale.
The git spilt not one, but two!

Please dear husband,
Pour the bourbon, that my liver takes me ‘fore this breaking
heart.
It is a pain I cannot bear.

Filed under: Literature, Poetry

29 Responses

  1. JanieBelle says:

    I moved a few comments from here to the previous thread.

    Let’s try to keep this one for poetry contest voting.

    Kisses

  2. max says:

    Okay. I vote for me. [I sort of have to, it is a loyalty thing.]

  3. […] am not even going to give the details I am just going to say go to :::this link::: and post a comment that says “I vote for […]

  4. tj says:

    I vote for Max.

  5. aj says:

    I vote for Max.

    Apart from her obvious talent as a poet, I am shit scared of the wrath she may exhibit should I fail to comment.

  6. Jennifer says:

    I vote for Max!

  7. JanieBelle says:

    Holy Moly, Batman!

  8. Anita Marie says:

    I vote for Max too.

    I’m afraid NOT too.

    ha.

    amm

  9. […] Get over there and vote for your favorite poem. […]

  10. Conundrum says:

    Max Max Max
    my vote gets

    lest I suffer
    in a way not exquisite

  11. Eddie says:

    I vote for Max.

  12. openchannel says:

    Max sent me.
    I’m not afraid of her.
    I came to vote for my favourite poem.

    I vote for Max.

  13. Kym says:

    Malicious, she is.
    Abstain, I dare not.
    Xanthic, the color of my coat
    soo, acrostic my vote.

    MAX

  14. brut says:

    psst… Max sent me.

    She has my vote.

    ~ nice blog by the way ~

  15. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks brut.

    🙂

  16. Woeful says:

    I vote for Max, I like her poem best.

  17. engtech says:

    I vote for Max.

  18. cinemagypsy says:

    Max sent me too. Nice work by all but I like hers best.

  19. i vote for max…simp;icity is a virtue

  20. sulya says:

    Okay. I was afraid that I would either have to risk the wrath of max or lie but I need to neither. I genuinely like max’s best – though I liked a lot of “Death of a Bartender” as well…

    Still…

    I vote for max.

  21. Doug says:

    I vote for max

  22. […] Naked In The Pouring Rain, The Dying Lover – by Max Adams The winner of our fourth poetry contest is Max Adams! Her prize is a guest post here on UDoJ, on any topic of […]

  23. Stiletto says:

    Max, congratulations!

  24. max says:

    Uh oh. Now I have to think up something smart to post.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,880 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
