UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Stem Cells And Murder In The White House

Wow, I’m surprisingly full of fire in the belly this morning.Dr. Phil Plait, The BadAstronomer

A pretty reasonable discussion of the recent veto of the stem cell research bill has been going on over at BadAstronomy, the website of The World’s Greatest Astronomer.

I was directly asked a question (after I’d gone to bed, but before all the American Mommies went to bed and the children snuck out for a little computer time) and my reply was rather vehement, but also rather eloquent for this ungodly (heh, puns) hour, if I may be so bold as to pat myself on the back. I thought I should share.

(As an aside, I’m in rare snark form over there as well.)

Quiet_Desperation,

No to be too snarky, but you can send whatever money you want to your favorite stem cell researches at any moment. Why bother with the government overhead?

Not snarky at all, it’s a fair question. Here’s the thing.

Tax money is my money. If I have a choice of whether to spend it on helping sick people via stem cell research or spend it on killing people in some other country via an unjustifiable war, I choose to help people with it. If I have a choice of whether to spend it on helping sick people via stem cell research or spend it on “faith based initiatives” which serve no purpose but to proselytize for a very narrow and hate mongering version of religion, I choose to help people with it. If I have a choice between helping sick people via stem cell research or spend it on tax breaks for the wealthiest 1% of Americans, I choose to help people with it.

That’s what this is about. The choice of the American people to spend their own money, brought together in one place in the form of our government, to bring the full buying power of the American public to bear on a problem that science tells us we can fix, is being deliberately thwarted by a single man representing a small minority of superstitious zealots. And by so doing, that man is costing people’s lives. George Walker Bush is killing people, based on nothing more than ancient voodoo.

I imagine that one of the very first things that will occur after he is booted unceremoniously out of the White House, is that a bill very similar to this one will sweep through Congress and be signed by his successor. Let’s say sometime around February 1, 2009. Let’s say stem cell research leads to a cure for disease X five years later, February 1, 2014. All the people in the world that die from disease X between June 21, 2012 and February 1, 2014 are murder victims of George Walker Bush. He has been informed by the scientific community repeatedly and in no uncertain terms that this research holds great promise for cures and treatments of several degenerative and fatal diseases. By knowingly, deliberately, and with aforethought stalling a cure for those people, he is committing what amounts to second degree murder at the very least, and I would argue (though IANAL) that first degree murder charges should at least be considered.

Were it not for the fact that I am not Constitutionally qualified to be president (age and one itty bitty other little thing), I would be joining the race. Let me just tell you, George Walker Bush had better be very glad I’m not, because were I to win (and of course I would!), I promise you that he would be leaving my inauguration platform in handcuffs. And immediately following his handling by the justice system of the United States, he would be on a plane to The Hague.

(Dear Department of Homeland Security,
Piss off.
Kisses,
JanieBelle)

I will scream at the top of my lungs from now until the day of that first stem cell based cure that I will NOT be a party to his crimes, I will NOT stand idly by while he commits them, I will NOT lie below.

Kisses,
JanieBelle

Filed under: Biology, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Education, Equality, Fundies, Politics, Rants, Religion, Science, Science Links, Sex

3 Responses

  1. Mark UK says:

    Hey, just dropping by from BA… You’ve got a pretty cool blog here.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Why thank you, Mark! Hope to see you ’round on a regular basis (though I should hope that you would continue on at The World’s Greatest Astronomer’s blog as well, of course!).

    Kisses,
    JanieBelle

  3. JanieBelle says:

    Ok, MichaelS has me about to reach through my computer screen.

    Isn’t he one of the Uncommonly Dense regulars?

    I need to get back to work on The Lilith Quotient and cool off a while.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,961 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
