UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Whoops. Poetry Contest Voting

Um… Yeah. I kinda forgot (again) about the current poetry contest, Quietly Naked In The Pouring Rain. Senility, I suppose.

Anyways, we’ll run the voting until midnight on the 15th, and I’ll try to actually pay attention now. Cast your votes in this thread, and remember that the winning entry gets a guest post here on UDoJ.

Entries are below the fold:

Rachael Black

my god my head hurts
naked in the pouring rain
damn where are my clothes

Kristine

Quietly naked in the pouring rain,
that tree stands like my memory of you
at tne edge of a promise spoken anew.
Sky and mist and earth mixed again,
but now mixed with tears and empty hands
No voice answers mine, no thunder even
No questions to ask for no answers given,
where you once kissed me just that tree stands.
Beneath that tree where once we had lain
is a tangle of roots that know dark history
in their wordless winding they bind you to me,
quietly standing in the pouring rain.

Rich –

If chics give you kicks when you’re out on a trip,
That’s hip
But man it’s too drastic to say “Hey fantastic!”
That’s Plastic
Don’t copy Elvis or you’ll bust a pelvis
The pain makes you flip.
Uh-oh
Plastic hip.

Shit Shit Shit I forgot; “Quietly naked in the pouring rain.”

Groovy Wordbender.

Deacon Barry

Quietly, naked in the pouring rain
I’m waiting as you frantically explain
To your angry husband, waving in the air
Those crumpled jeans you sought to hide in vain.

His sharp demands, accusing stare
Your evasions, sobbed despair
How long did this deception last?
This sick, despicable affair?

Your lover’s breaths are faint and fast
And now your time with him is passed.
Your husband screams like one insane
And from his hand his ring is cast.

Your lover knows no more of pain.
His opened throat – a crimson drain.
I clean my blade and watch him die
Quietly naked in the pouring rain.

Cast your votes here.

Filed under: Literature, Poetry, Poetry Contests

33 Responses

  1. […] Shut up and vote in the poetry contest!  This entry was written by JanieBelle and posted on June 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm and filed under Literature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL. « Politicians Actually Responding? […]

  2. max says:

    I vote for Rachael Black’s poem.

  3. I vote for Deacon Barry!

  4. max says:

    Oh now we have to wrestle.

  5. I vote for the Deacon — how mysterious! If not the lover or the husband who is the narrator/killer in the poem? What intrigue!

  6. I’m for Kristine’s poem; it makes me think of all kinds of evocative photo possibilities!

  7. max says:

    Hmm. Naysayers.

    I could say I studied lit, poetry, language, and film in college, have a fancy piece of paper from a university that probably says I am right and know more than anyone who just thinks, Cool, it rhymes and makes me want to take a photo.

    Or I could keep my mouth shut and just know I am right.

    Fuck. Decisions.

  8. JanieBelle says:

    Wow, got a bit busy ’round here this morning! Max, are we feeling a bit aggressive this morning? Have anything to do with gunshots in the building?

    Maybe you and I should go someplace quiet and private… to talk, I mean. Now about that wrestling you were mentioning…

    🙂

  9. max says:

    Well yes when people start shooting I get a little froggy.

    Freaking character flaw.

  10. JanieBelle says:

    Y’know, I don’t know for sure, but I’m willing to bet that I share that character flaw.

  11. Kristine says:

    *Gasp!* Deacon’s poem is like a counterpoint to my own – and prevents me from voting for myself (again). It made my hair stand on end! I vote for Deacon.

  12. PricklePrickle says:

    It’s Brendna, but I got a blog, so it signs me in automatically.

    I vote Deacon Barry, on the grounds of the rhyme scheme.

  13. PricklePrickle says:

    Crap. I meant Brendan there, not Brendna.

  14. JanieBelle says:

    Gotcha. So where’s your blog link? You should link it in your name.

  15. damewiggy says:

    Rich, definitely Rich.

    Poetry with spokes. Most excellent.

  16. JanieBelle says:

    So noted, Dame Wiggly Butt!

  17. Kristine says:

    So who do I get to wrestle? 😉

  18. JanieBelle says:

    **smears self with chocolate and raises hand**

  19. max says:

    LOL! JanieBelle, I have sure missed you.

  20. JanieBelle says:

    And I you. Chocolate, Dear Max?

    😉

  21. JanieBelle says:

    It’s very fresh. Just made it today.

  22. […] Hours Left To Cast Your Vote! Vote for your favorite in our (sort of) monthly poetry […]

  23. max says:

    It would be wrong to make up a bunch of alternate personalities and have them all go vote for Rachael right?

    Like I have to make up alternate personalities]

  24. Well I’m OK with the multiple personality thing, but the voting not so much…

    😉

  25. JanieBelle says:

    I disagree. Making up multiple personalities is just wrong.

    😉

  26. max says:

    I am going to have a talk with your other personalities about that fresh stuff.

  27. WhoreChurch says:

    I still gotta stay with Deacon. It’s just my kind of creepy. Gotta love the “His open throat – a crimson drain.” Makes my neck tickle.

  28. JanieBelle says:

    I really like how Kristine’s and Deacon Barry’s set each other off. They could be two different points of view of the same event, sort of.

    Maybe the next one should be the POV of the dying lover…

  29. […] Kristine’s comment about Deacon Barry’s poem in our last contest inspired this idea. […]

  30. WhoreChurch says:

    Grgll..grgl…grgl..death rattle.

  31. JanieBelle says:

    Forsooth! I am killed with the blade of my lover’s husband. Death shall come. I am dying. Alas and behold! My time is over. I am about to kick the proverbial…

    The End.

  32. WhoreChurch says:

    Or just show the husband approaching the house and then fade to black.

    – David Chase

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,814 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
