UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

I Hate Writing Poetry – Guest Post by Deacon Barry

For his winning poem in our Green Green Hills of Earth poetry contest, I give you Deacon Barry‘s guest post:

I hate writing poetry.

I love finishing a poem, reading it over, then letting other people see it. I love standing up in front of an audience and performing the poem. Basically I love being a poet, with all the trimmings.

But the actual writing of the poem, the struggle with my subconscious to bring forth meaning according to arbitrary rules of metre and rhyme – that’s torture!

The problem with writing poetry (or a play, or my blog), is that the really creative stuff is done by my subconscious; but I have no access to its inner workings. I have to wait, grinding my heels, until it feels inclined to throw me a line, like a lord throwing a bone to his wolfhound. When this happens, I get a sudden, transitory, lifting of the spirits, and another piece to add to the edifice that is my slowly emerging poem. But in solving one part of the puzzle, it creates another. How do I find a rhyme for the line I’ve just been given? I then worry at the line, trying to match it with different words, trying different word orders, or trying to work backwards from the line I’ve got to create a whole verse, without too many ands & buts. After struggling with the English language (and sometimes Scots), and forcing it into a rough shape, my subconscious will then recast the whole thing in one fell swoop, ignoring all I’ve worked on, into a thing of elegance.

(You can really go off some people, can’t you?)

And all the while, the rest of the poem lies ahead of me, uncharted and unfathomed. And I have a constant fear that maybe this time I won’t be able to produce anything worth putting out there. But always, like the hero in a cliffhanger, my subconscious secretes another morsel of literary honey, just to entice me further. It does need me : they’re my fingers on the keyboard!

I get more excited when I get to the last verse – the verse that has to tie everything together with the punch line, or money quote. I know that the bulk of the writing is behind me, and I can relax a bit which seems to help my sub’s communications get through that little bit easier.

And then I’m finished.

I sit back with a big smile. Of course, there are still minor edits to do, but I’m in control there. It’s the writing that I’m not in full control over. I just have to follow where my subconscious takes me.

It’s frightening.

It’s frustrating.

It’s fun.

Filed under: Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Friends, Guest Post, Literature, Poetry, Poetry Contests

3 Responses

  1. Amanda says:

    Whatever you do, don’t stop writing!

  2. Deacon Barry says:

    There’s no chance of that happening. I’ve been writing since I was five, and I think I’m getting the hang of it.

  3. Brendan says:

    Oof! Litigasm! Poetic prose is my absolute favorite literary form. Much more subtle than actual poetry, and far more evocative than regural prose.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,884 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
