UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

A Conflation Of Some Magnitude

I have an article in the works for International Women’s Day and Blog Against Sexism Day.

Unfortunately, it’s going to be late. Get over it. 🙂

Besides my Richter Scale Headache, I’m finding it very difficult to find sources willing to separate one issue from another.

For my particular topic, I’ve chosen what I think to be the greatest sexism of all – trafficking of enslaved women for sex.

It’s interesting to note that nearly every agency I’ve come across, governmental and NGO alike, has this nasty habit of conflating the terms “Human Trafficking” and “Prostitution”, and not a single one of them – NOT ONE – seems to bother either making a distinction or providing even cursory evidence that prostitution is inherently harmful to women.

Now, I of course agree that forcing anyone into prostitution or any other type of slavery is self-evidently evil. But that’s a long way from saying that a woman willingly exchanging her time and skill for money is also evil in and of itself.

Yet somehow every institution I encounter begins with the current deplorable situation of women sold into sexual slavery and moves on to the devastating effects of such slavery, and then simply screams about how evil prostitution is. They all rage on, without ever considering that if sex professionals were given the same choice and protections as those of any other profession, perhaps there would be no devastating effects, and perhaps there would be no more demand for that type of human trafficking. It just doesn’t seem to even occur to people that perhaps the negative repercussions to these women stems from the slavery rather than from the prostitution per se.

I have my own thoughts about why that is, and I’m going to need more time to look into that and see if the evidence bears out my hypothesis.

Again, please forgive the delay. Perhaps Elizabeth’s post can tide you over.

Filed under: Education, Equality, Politics, Rants, Sex

4 Responses

  1. I’m looking forward to your hypothesis. I’ve got some thoughts on that question myself. I’d love to chat it over sometime.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    That m’lady, is a date.

    🙂

    Kisses to you!

  3. I have a few posts that touch on the issue, but why don’t you come over for coffee and we’ll sort it all out. I’m sure between the two of us we’re smart enough to find the solution 😉

  4. JanieBelle says:

    Oh I’m sure we can! I’ll be over at my earliest opportunity.

    Casual dress or something more formal?

    Should I bring something to munch on?

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,959 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
