UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

I Am So Depressed

I don’t usually watch Leno, but he was on, I was bored, what can I say?

So there’s this segment when he goes out and asks people on the street some pretty basic questions to see what they’ll answer, then puts some of them on in a game show format called Battle of the Jaywalk All-Stars.

Apparently, you can graduate high school and even go to college to be a lawyer and be pretty damned ignorant.

Some questions and answers I can remember:

Why did Washington cross the Delaware?  A – “To get to the other side.”  I somehow knew she was going to say that.   The other girl suggested “To attack the Native Americans.”  The team of two guys came up with “To attack those rebel guys with the X on the flag”.

I shook my head.

Who was President during the Civil War? A – “George Washington. ”

I nearly cried.

(While presenting a picture of Nancy Pelosi) “Who is this person? Some people would consider her the most powerful woman in America…”  A – ” Are you sure about that?  She’s not Oprah Winfrey.”

(While presenting a picture of Al Gore) “Who is this person?”  A – “I don’t know, but he’s freaking me out with those eyes.”

I did cry.

Will somebody please shoot me?

It’s no damned wonder con-artists like William A. Dembski and Sylvia Browne and Pat Robertson and Deepok Chopra (or whatever the hell his name is) can make millions in this country.

Filed under: Education, Entertainment, Rants

7 Responses

  1. blipey says:

    Jay-Walking is one of my favorite segments of television. It is sad; but remember that he had to edit a few hours of footage to highlight the really stupid people.

  2. I’m amazed anyone can sit through any of the tonight show. Jay Leno is one of the worst interviewers that has ever soiled the chair of a tv talk show.

    /rant off

  3. JanieBelle says:

    Y’know, I keep telling myself that, blipey.

    It doesn’t make me feel any better.

    Rev, I didn’t make it past Jim Carey. I love his comedy, but once he started going off on that “Number 23” woo, I was further depressed and turned the idiot box off.

  4. WhoreChurch says:

    I love headlines and will often watch them. Recent bouts of insomnia have caused me to appreciate Craig Ferguson–he adlibs his own monologue every night and it is as funny as any polished stand up routine I’ve ever heard.

    On a slightly different note: Janie if there weren’t stupid people out there how would I make a living?

  5. JanieBelle says:

    Good point, Kevin.

    I’d hate to see you out of work.

    🙂

  6. rachael moir says:

    Love your wit and observations about the merkin puclic.
    Let me know if you’d care to help in my Crusade For Modern Misanthropy.
    One of the best resources for cretinous behavior and Why You Should Avoid Humanity is Fark.com
    I’m thinking you already have it bookmarked.

  7. JanieBelle says:

    Thank you, Rachael. I enjoy your blog, too!

    Oh, and I have been Totally Farked.

    …and I liked it!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 398,082 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
