UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Duck

Blogging on Pseudo-Scientific Douche-BagsYou have been warned.

Due to my sequestration, I’ve been a bit out of the loop since yesterday.

I’m currently under heavily supervised visitation of my computer, but Dr. BA brought me some simply lovely news on this day-after-my-eighteenth-birthday. (Actually, he delivered the news yesterday, I just didn’t receive it until this morning so he’s not late with his present or nuthin’.)

Oh, how I loves me my “talk to the hand” moment when it comes to creationists.

From Reuters:

The Kansas Board of Education on Tuesday threw out science standards deemed hostile to evolution, undoing the work of Christian conservatives in the ongoing battle over what to teach U.S. public school students about the origins of life.

YYYYYEEEEEEHAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Perhaps now the Kansas School Board will no longer be synonymous globally with “knuckle dragging goons who will lie and cheat to make sure they destroy the brains of a generation of children.”.

I’m all with the good Dr. BA and his dancing commenters…

Until Steve.

Steve Says: February 14th, 2007 at 10:06 am

I havne’t found anything that says what the board specifically did. This goes along with a news report I heard on the radio.

AP Wire | 02/13/2007 | Kansas science standards evolve again, becoming pro-Darwin

The board on Tuesday removed language suggesting that key evolutionary concepts – like a common origin for all life on Earth and change in species creating new ones – were controversial and being challenged by new research. Also approved was a new definition of science, specifically limiting it to the search for natural explanations of what’s observed in the universe.

They removed language that said that evolution was a controversial topic. Wow. That’s really showing them.

I’m tired of this argument that Kansan’s are a bunch of “”knuckle dragging goons.” Get real. The only place I ever see that is on Left oriented blogs. The average man on the street doesn’t care one way or the other.

As for teaching evolution, who cares, really? I make websites for a living, there’s not a whole lot of evolutionary theory that goes into that. What about the man who works on my car? Or the bank teller? I don’t remember any classes dealing with evolution when I was in high school (mid 80’s). I saw a lot of stuff on TV. This idea that people are going to “destroy the brains of a generation of children” is bunk. The fact is, the vast majority of people don’t dwell on it during the course of their daily lives. The ones who do care about it are those who are into evolutionary biology and all its related fields.

Both sides of this debate are guilty of treating it as something more than it is.

As for me, in the beginning, God, the rest is commentary.

As I said, duck. Now.

First, my polite reply on BadAstronomy:

JanieBelle Says:
February 15th, 2007 at 6:53 am Steve, way back up yonder ways there asked –

As for teaching evolution, who cares, really? I make websites for a living, there’s not a whole lot of evolutionary theory that goes into that. What about the man who works on my car? Or the bank teller? I don’t remember any classes dealing with evolution when I was in high school (mid 80’s). I saw a lot of stuff on TV. This idea that people are going to “destroy the brains of a generation of children” is bunk. The fact is, the vast majority of people don’t dwell on it during the course of their daily lives. The ones who do care about it are those who are into evolutionary biology and all its related fields.

That has to be the single most insipid comment on this thread.

I certainly hope the kids who might be interested in curing your Alzheimer’s when you’re old care.

I hope the kids who might be interested in curing the cancer that eats away at your car mechanic care.

I hope the kids who might be interested in curing your HIV positive bank teller care.

And I sure as hell hope the kids who might be interested in preventing another 1918 flu epidemic care.

I hope your doctor cares.

I hope the scientists who came up with the vaccine against cervical cancer care enough to continue working to cure or prevent more types of cervical and other cancer care.

I hope your children care, because they will be patients, even if they are never doctors or scientists or researchers or teachers.

I care.

That’s who cares, Steve.

Did someone say something about dragging knuckles?

Now here’s what I wanted to say:

It’s knuckle dragging, apathetic, insular, non-committing morons like you that allow these lying snake oil salesman creep creationists to inhibit and destroy the education of our children. It is directly the fault of people like you that people like me are denied a proper secondary school science education because you won’t put a stop to con-artists like that slimy William A. Dembski and his disgusting ilk.

It’s self-absorbed jackasses like you that have allowed a few whack jobs to take over this country and grind it down from the greatest republic in human history, to the nub of a has-been on the road to becoming a totalitarian fascist theocracy.

When people like you stick your head in the sand, people like that glorified house plant Dubya come to power. When theists like you say nothing, scum sucking bottom feeders like Robertson and Haggard speak for you.

You sir, are the reason Christianity wears the public face of a western Osama bin Laden. You sir, are the reason Christianity receives ridicule from people like me.

Edmund Burke wrote, “When bad men combine, the good must associate; else they will fall one by one, an unpitied sacrifice in a contemptible struggle” (Thoughts on the Cause of the Present Discontents, April 23, 1770).

We probably know the paraphrase better:

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”

You disgust me.

Filed under: Astronomy, Biology, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, BPSDB, Education, Fundies, More Formal Blogs, Politics, Rants, Religion, Science,

7 Responses

  1. Amanda says:

    This is probably a bad idea for me to say…but…

    I thought he had a point. I understand where you’re coming from, too, but overall, I think both sides do make mountains out of molehills. Civilization as we know it isn’t going to crumble over evolutionary controversy.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Amanda, you know we love you. Please don’t think of this as the same sort of commentary as I made about nut boy up there:

    The fact that civilization as we know it doesn’t fully realize that it rests on the back of evolutionary biology, does not make it less so.

    Virulent diseases could very well wipe civilization as we know it from existence, and fighting them off requires a good understanding of how these little critters evolve as they do and mutate in ways that we can’t currently predict.

    If the ID Creationism Hoax people have their way, biology in school will be reduced to “You’re sick because God is punishing you for sin”, and that’s not only insulting and annoying, but absolutely deadly.

    This is not a matter of pride, it’s a matter of survival.

    I wouldn’t call that a molehill.

  3. Janie is right on. Relaxing standards in any area of education leads to poorly educated children. Lets not just focus on biology. Should we relax physic teaching standards or history standards? We, as those who set policy or have a vote in who sets policy, have an obligation to those who cant, to make sure they are getting the highest quality education available. When we don’t do that, not only are we taking away what is rightfully due to the students, we are being intellectually lazy and ethically apathetic.

    Now to focus specifically on evolution. It is important that good science be taught of bad science because as Dobzhansky said:

    “Nothing in Biology Makes Sense
    Except in the Light of Evolution”

    And because biology is the basis for all medicine we should care that then best information is being taught to those who will in the future be practicing Doctors. And to whose that will not, we should care that we are being honest with our children and ourselves.

    People like steve are the same apathetic types who don’t give a shit if some people get killed in some far off town from some poorly sanitized food because … “eh , it doesn’t affect me so why should I can”.

    Apathy can be as dangerous as those that willfully distort truth to try and make change (hell creationists I’m looking right at you).

  4. Pardon the rampant over use of commas in some sentences. I got overzealous for some reason.

  5. JanieBelle says:

    Chimpy, I myself am guilty of serial comma abuse from time to time.

    I’ll let it slide this time.

    🙂

    And for the rest, well spoken on all counts.

  6. Holy typos. Sheesh. Theres supposed to be an instead in there and a then is a the and …….. I guess my brain is still recovering from the flu but my fingers are happy to keep typing.

  7. JanieBelle says:

    ‘sok Chimpy. I’m always happy to take corrected copy and go back and fix it for you.

    Kisses!

    (Glad you’re feeling somewhat better!)

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,885 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
