UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Rebecca At The Well

rebeccaatthewell.jpgThe story of Rebecca from the National Gallery of Art (in reference to a painting of the same name):

The story of Rebecca at the well comes from the Book of Genesis. The aged Abraham, wanting a wife for his son Isaac, sent his servant Eliezer to his homeland of Mesopotamia to find a suitable woman. Tired after his long journey, Eliezer stopped at a well and prayed for guidance. When Rebecca offered water to Eliezer and his camels, the old steward recognized her as the appointed bride and presented her with the betrothal jewels offered by the kneeling servant.

The photograph I’ve posted with this blog entry is actually from my family. The woman portraying Rebecca is my first cousin, three times removed, Rebecca “Peg” Skirving. The photograph was taken in the late twenties by her step-father, Joe Harrison.

I’ve always found artistic representations of ancient stories fascinating and magnetic. Museums full of these sorts of things swallow me whole whenever I visit them, and I’m usually dragged out kicking and screaming.

It’s probably why my avatar of John Collier’s painting of Lilith has stuck with me, and why I like Kate‘s avatar of Collier’s painting of Lady Godiva so much.

I bring this up for a reason, not just because I think I’m in love with the ghost of my distant cousin Rebecca (she died back in 1998 at 87 years old and I actually never met her).

It’s actually because this portrait of Molly somehow reminds me of Collier’s Lilith.

I’d actually like to ask Molly if she would do a depiction of that painting (the snake would be an issue, though!), but I’m not sure of the etiquette of making such a request.

Can anyone help me out here? Would it be rude to ask her?

Filed under: Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Family, Literature and Literotica, Photos

2 Responses

  1. Robyn says:

    What an absolutely captivating photo! That time period produced such great imagery, the kind that pulls you into the scene–my grandmother, who decorated her little slanted house in 1925 and then never touched it again, has photos and paintings like these in every room.

    I love the Lady Godiva image, which I posted recently, although I find the story of Lady Godiva sad and demeaning. She triumphed in the end, at least.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    I really do love the imagery of these things. Photography was really catching on for regular people, and all sorts of people created all sorts of images.

    I’d just love to see the stuff in your grandmother’s house!

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,885 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
