UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

A Convenient Give Away

An Inconvenient TruthA group called Participate.net is giving away 50,000 copies of An Inconvenient Truth to educators. Free copies go to the first 50,000 teachers to sign up, one DVD per teacher.

From their About page,

Participate.net is a growing community of film lovers and activists who are dedicated to engaging their minds, sharing their passions, and improving the world around them.

So it looks like it’s a separate entity from the group of folks who actually produced the movie. I think it’s important to get this movie into the hands of the science teachers, regardless of the source.

To that end, I have bought and watched the DVD, I’m going to do a write-up of it as time allows over the holidays, and then donate my copy to White Oak High School, right down the road from me.

It really is as captivating as the reviews indicate. I would highly recommend it.

I have an extensive post about the controversy regarding this movie, and the National Science Teachers of America’s Exxon’s refusal to accept 50,000 free copies of this movie for distribution to their members. Click to read, The NSTA Is Feeding Us A Line.

In lieu of a hat tip, Kisses go to Edwize and JD2718.

(And of course to Kate for waking me to tell me this. Of course, she gets something special. 😉 )

This is important, or I wouldn’t be out of bed at this ungodly hour of the morning.

Just so y’know.

Filed under: Education, Environment, NSTA, Science, Science Links

3 Responses

  1. Darmok says:

    Donating your copy is a great idea! I can’t donate mine because I want to hold onto it so that I can make more of my friends watch it. In fact, I bought a second copy (which I’ve currently lent to someone) so that I can have another one to lend out or to watch with people. I wonder if my local schools would be interested in a donated copy; I’d gladly buy them copies.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks. Kate and I thought of the idea together, and I’m looking forward to doing it.

    If we had the cash, we’d go out and buy a copy for every teacher in the district.

    Sort of a “Merry Christmas to all the kids in the county” kinda thing.

  3. Darmok says:

    I assume my local schools would be happy to accept a copy—at least, I hope they would. I didn’t grow up in this area so I suppose I would just have to walk into the front office and give it to them.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,812 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
