UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Ripples In The Water

Mother And Daughter At The Stonehenge Inn

Funny how things go, y’know?

.

I started this little blog on a lark, not quite six months ago now. There were thoughts of literature, family, boys, that sort of thing.

.

Just a “Dear Diary” kinda thing. I imagined nothing too special, maybe a visit from Mom every now and again, comments once in a while from friends back home, a new BlogOVerse neighbor would drop by from time to time to drop off a virtual pie.

.

Funny how things go, y’know?

.

I really didn’t intend to disturb the water of the BlogOVerse much. I went trolling for stupid fish at UD and caught me a whopper. I toyed with him for a few months, and that was fun for a while.

.

Next thing I know, I’m sleeping with a girl, kicking fundy butts like a superheroine, and writing science reports like some kind of real journalist.

.

Ok, I had disturbed the water just a little, and OK, it was intentional. But that was some small fun. Now some very cool things have started happening, and I’d like to share them with you Dreamers.

.

Dr. Tara sent a hat tip my way once or twice, which was nifty. We like her a lot.

.

I was pretty tickled when Ed Brayton ran my Priceless video on the front page of his blog, Dispatches from the Culture Wars. That’s big time for me.

.

Then I bumped into a story about the NSTA that really bugged me. I followed the story for a while, and the more I did, the angrier I got. I gathered up every news report I could find and read every one of them. Several times. I was getting a little lost in the story and needed a way to sort out what happened when, so I began jotting things down. Those notes eventually evolved into what I think is a pretty good story.

.

About the same time, I had been following a related but different story, and was keeping a few notes around on that, too. You can read that one here.

.

In the midst of all that, I received an E-Mail from Jon Coifman, and the National Resource Defense Council picked up three of my posts on the NSTA.

.

What’s really super duper neato kewl about this is that those stories are being picked up by some big time, heavy hitting people. They’re like famous and stuff. Now, I’m sure this is all regular stuff for some of you gals and guys, especially my Dreamers who are like scientists and stuff, but for me, these things are a big deal. A really, really big deal.

.

Funny how things go, y’know?

.

But every time I’ve thought to myself, “Man, this just couldn’t get any cooler,” it does. Take today, as a ferinstance. Did you see that this little blog of mine was featured on the front page of BadAstronomy? Whoa.

.

Well that’s just the coolest thing to happen to UDoJ. But I ain’t done. A second thing happened today that’s almost (but not quite, Dr. BA!) as cool.

.

I got an E-Mail.

.

It was from Jeff Medkeff. For those of you not in the know, he is the astronomer behind The Blue Collar Science Show, a new podcast program delivering “Ten minutes of science news, culture, and commentary for the rest of us.” Oh, yeah. That’s going in the Blogroll!

.

He is also a former editor for Sky & Telescope magazine, and developed the software that automates many observatories. The International Astronomical Union named asteroid 2000 LF15 after him.

.

Well Mr. Medkeff wasn’t contacting me about having an asteroid named 2006 JM69 UDoJ or anything, but he did ask to quote some of my story about the NSTA in his next podcast. Still pretty cool!

.

Now, I did take a moment to explain my “situation” to him rather clearly, and since he’s not replied, it may be that he’s decided not to use me as a source after all. Or maybe he’s just busy, I dunno. But still very cool, any damned way ya’ look at it. I wanted to make sure he knew what was up. Just so y’know.

.

So I guess the point of all this self-congratulation is to look back at where we’ve been over the last six months and see the growing ripples in the water. And to look ahead to where we might be going together, and dream of even bigger ripples. Even if we’re never famous science reporters, or scientists, or Victoria’s Secret Lingerie Models, there’s still lots of good stuff to come. Kate will make sure of that.

.

Funny how things go, y’know?

.

Filed under: About, Astronomy, Blogs In Our MonkeySphere, Education, Environment, More Formal Blogs, NSTA, Science

7 Responses

  1. Amanda says:

    How awesome! You’re famous! 🙂 Good going.

  2. JanieBelle says:

    It’s pretty awesome, but I wouldn’t say I’m famous. More like I’m touching the hems of their garments, as it were.

    Still, I’m having trouble fitting my head through the door lately.

    🙂

  3. blipey says:

    No, you aren’t famous, but you are doing cool things that others notice. That’s more than a lot of people get up the gumption to do.

    And you do them in an entertaining way with sincerity and drive. Combining this with the fact that you were already hanging around the right crowd (which interestingly means you were simultaneously spending time with the “wrong” crowd), you get noticed.

    Congrats, and keep it up.

  4. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks, Blipey! I’m doing the best I can. 🙂

    I was beginning to worry that you had missed the move, so I put up a great big banner across the top of the old blog just for you!

    Great big, long, deep, passionate tongue kisses to you, blipey.

    From bo’fus.

  5. blipey says:

    Come on! I skipped out on the move because no beer was promised for heavy lifting.

    I’ve got you linked twice now at my place–with a memorial for everyone’s favorite ex-Marine, homo.

  6. JanieBelle says:

    I saw that, blipey, and LOVED it!

    As for the beer, we had a MUCH more enticing offer…

    😉

  7. JanieBelle says:

    Just to add, my post The NSTA Is Feeding Us A Line was the 52nd most viewed post on all of WordPress.com today.

    I’m really glad it’s being read, and I really have Dr. Phil Plait of BadAstronomy for all the traffic he’s sent my way over the last few days.

    Thanks Dr. BA!

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,883 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
