UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Blog Announcement

Because Blogger has forced the issue by blocking all us old blogspot bloggers from commenting on any of the new Beta blogs, we are going to be doing everything we can to get the WordPress importer to rescue us NOW.

Since the importer does not work on the new Beta blogs, we have to get it done before Blogger forcibly moves us to Beta.

Raspberries to Blogger on both counts.

What this means is that I will be stripping this blog down to its bare essentials attempting to figure out what the hell is holding up the importer. (Don’t worry, I’ve saved the template and will be able to restore it until Blogger forces us out.) I do not want to lose all the great history here.

Please excuse the ugly decor while this is going on.

[UPDATE:  Obviously I got it working, because you’re reading this on the new blog.  The place is still somewhat disorderly, but I’m working on it.  Please bear (or bare!) with me.]

Filed under: Blogger Sucks

16 Responses

  1. Old Knudsen says:

    ah at last a blog I can actually make sense of and see, I moved to beta and now I can see through walls, though my blog sucks now.

  2. Deacon Barry says:

    Is that why I’m having trouble commenting on other blogs? Dang! I wish I’d checked this blog before writing today’s post.

  3. IAMB says:

    I may be alone here, but the beta commenting thing never really bothered me. I’ve always had a Google account anyway for keeping track of blog stuff and for Usenet. I’m really trying to avoid having to switch to Beta, if for no better reason than just because.

  4. Musicguy says:

    goodness! I can’t possible continue to read and comment on an UGLY blog! My delicate sensibilities will be so greatly offended! hehe.

  5. JanieBelle says:

    you guys are a riot.

    just so y’know.

  6. thebadastronomer says:

    Yay! It works!

  7. Pi Guy says:

    Hi, Janie.

    I’ve been crazy busy – just finished a final and a very intense patch at work – but I just dropped by and see that you’re on the move. Glad that I caught it.

    I’ll be back!

  8. JanieBelle says:

    It took me all day.

    I first had to download and install PHP, MySQL, and WordPress on my own computer. Then I had to figure out how to work them all.

    Then I had to import the Blogger Blog to my computer.

    Then I had to export the whole blog to an XML file.

    Then I had to import that file here.

    Now I have to go back and clean it up… Categories to add, youtubes to recode, fix all the posts with “below the fold”, find and reupload all the images in all the posts….

    I think that’ll wait ’til tomorrow.

  9. Kristine says:

    Hi, Janie.
    I’ve been crazy busy – just finished a final – hey, wait a minute! 😉

    Whether it’s dynamic link libraries or just library science, they’ll kill ya.

    I must admit that even though Blogger Beta Soldier Spy is an annoyance, I do like not having to watch the thing publish and republish and then tell me that a tech has been called.

    Oh, by the way – a little bird (brain) told me: “Why don’t you join up with the other two multisexual femme fatales to complete the female triumvirate of evolution experts. Then you might found a colony on the island of Lesbos where you can spend the rest of your useless lives admiring one another with GAY abandon.” Which gave me a really good idea.

    Hello to the new blog! Lots of luck! I’ll be back.

  10. JanieBelle says:

    Hi Dr. BA! What do ya think of the new digs? I have to do a lot of clean-up of the old posts yet, but I’m glad I saved the blog before it was swallowed whole by the Blogger Beta Monster!

    PiGuy, I’m glad you caught that, too! I’m not going to do any more posting over at the old blog, and I think I’ll turn off comments over there today. That way, the post telling everyone we’ve moved will stay up top, and we can keep the conversations in one place.

    Kisses, Kristine! Great idea, and I’ve added it to a new special place in the sidebar!

    “multisexual femme fatales” “female triumvirate”

    He kills me.

    Kisses to you all and welcome.

  11. Amanda says:

    Love the new digs! I miss you over on my blog. You offer great discussion and insight! Maybe blogger can get its act together soon and you’ll be able to comment once more.

  12. JanieBelle says:

    I’ve really been missing you, too, Amanda. But I just HAVE to get this new place straightened up. The WordPress catagories are sending all kinds of traffic my way, and this place is still a mess.

    I saw WOMI’s insipid comments in reply to mine, I’ll try and get to them this afternoon.

    Thanks for the compliments on the new place.

    Kisses to you.

  13. Deacon Barry says:

    I’ve followed your link and I’m here. If you’d waited till Hogmanay, I could have been your first foot. Anyway, nice digs.

  14. JanieBelle says:

    Thanks, Deacon! Glad you made it.

    🙂

  15. Congrats! I’m going to be doing the same thing soon. Maybe next week.

  16. JanieBelle says:

    If you bump into any issues I may have already encountered, feel free to ask. I’ll be happy to help.

    You can also try the WordPress forums, but I found that questions often go unanswered, or sometimes answered in computer geekeese.

    (Would that be “Computer Greek”?)

    Good to see you found us, Rev.

    Kisses to the Chimpy from bo’fus.

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 397,883 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
