UDreamOfJanie

Dream a Little Dream of Me.

Dreamers’ Poetry Contest

So I made a comment over at Cocktail Party Physics, which sounded like a really good ending for a poem. I thought about writing one myself, and then I thought I’d like to see what you guys could do.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is below the fold.

Write a poem. Here is your ending, adapted from the title of a Robert Heinlein story:

Oh how I long to long,
For the green, green hills of earth.

Have at it, and post your poems here.

We’ll post them all and have a vote, the winner will get a guest post on whatever subject the winner chooses.

Filed under: Literature, Poetry, Poetry Contests

30 Responses

  1. Rich Hughes says:

    Roses are Red, Violets are blue,
    Oh how I long to long,
    For the green, green hills of earth.

    What?

    Formuliac?

    Go F#&ck yourselves!

  2. JanieBelle says:

    You’re always so sweet, Rich.

    “Go F#&ck yourselves!”

    um… we just did.

    Twice.

    Just so y’know.

  3. Kristine says:

    Poems that rhyme
    rhyme all the time!
    Yet I promise to write a poem,
    sometime.
    I promise to scribble
    some sentiment/drivel
    that may be true
    or a little white fibble.

    Maybe I should
    go work on my finals
    instead of surfing Net
    to read others’ opinals.
    But I promise to visit
    and I promise to write,
    and I promise to blow you away.
    Good-night! :-)

  4. Kristine says:

    BTW, Blogger crashed
    three times as I wrote.
    I hope on Glob. Org. Day
    Blogger is smote!

  5. JanieBelle says:

    We are, in fact, blown away, Mistress Kristine.

    We always are when we see your smiling face upon our blog!

    But it was supposed to end with

    “Oh how I long to long
    For the green, green hills of earth.”

    Silly girl.

    Kisses to you!

  6. JanieBelle says:

    Yeah, I’ve been trying to get WordPress to import my blog, but it just don’t want to do it.

    That was probably my fault.

    Sorry. I’m done now.

  7. Kristine says:

    The mother ship calls me,
    The stars await
    the celestial horses are
    Out of the gate,
    Shimmying with comets
    And meteoriting with mirth
    Oh how I long to long
    For the green, green hills of earth.

  8. JanieBelle says:

    Wow, Kristine!

    Exactly the feeling!

    I like it a lot!

    Kisses!

  9. blipey says:

    Sorry it’s a tad late, but I’ve been on the road, ya know.

    But, now I’m home!!! For 3 days. but here’s my entry:

    4° sliver of moon
    Rests on red-tint horizon—

    Soft blanket of yellow soil
    Speaks from eons past—

    Wait for blue-orange flare
    That whispers of no tomorrow—

    Heart rests heavy,
    Promises another golden morn,

    Another silver moon,
    Another yellow bed,
    Another empty sky…

    Oh how I long to long,
    For the green, green hills of earth.

  10. JanieBelle says:

    Glad you’re home safe, blipey!

    You’re not late at all, we’d never conclude a poetry contest without YOUR entry!

    Duh.

    And your entry is wonderful. It’s perfectly evocative of the mood I was looking for.

    I truly do wish I could be somewhere where I’d miss Earth a little.

    Know what I mean?

    Wouldn’t it be perfectly, dolefully, forlornly wonderful to be able to say, “Man, I miss Earth. Maybe I’ll head home for Thanksgiving this year.”?

    Oh how I do indeed long to long,
    for the green, green hills of Earth.

  11. Deacon Barry says:

    When Man first felled and burned the trees,
    I began my rise.
    Then coal was king, and chimneys belched
    More carbon to the skies.
    Along came petrol engines,
    And how emissions grew.
    (Solar power was in the dark,
    And windmills spoiled the view.)

    The polar ice-caps melted in a great freshwater dump,
    The Gulf Stream slowed and halted as it stopped the saline pump.
    The rise in temperature was paused And people thought they’d freeze,
    Then tons of melting methane pushed it up by ten degrees.

    And now, with agriculture gone,
    And arid deserts burning,
    My happiness is incomplete,
    I still can feel a yearning.
    Though I sit triumphant
    As the world regrets my birth
    Oh how I long to long
    For the green, green hills of Earth.

    Deacon Barry

  12. JanieBelle says:

    Hello Deacon Barry!

    Nice new take. I hadn’t even considered that angle.

    Good job, and welcome!

  13. blipey says:

    Deacon, I must second Janie. Nicely done.

  14. [...] remember back in November when we had that poetry contest? (That contest is still open, BTW. We never got many entries, and none of us ever really voted for [...]

  15. BWE says:

    The money I’ve made
    selling war and disease
    Should make me sad
    I should not feel pleased.

    But the slaves that I own
    In this burnt landscape
    And a good thing they know it
    Taste just like steak.

    And seeing the misery
    In post-apocolyptic dearth
    Oh how I long to long
    For the green, green hills of Earth.

  16. JanieBelle says:

    Well done, BWE!

    Definitely a contender.

    Kisses to you!

  17. Kristine says:

    [Inspired by my 2nd novel]

    They call me alien
    and yet I am from birth
    as human as you–no, more–
    though you think we are no more,
    extinct, long past, and somehow not worth
    to be called your ancestor…

    You call me alien
    and yet we’re both from Africa
    Look, our hands speak of one birth
    and though my home is a galaxy’s girth
    and though you’ve forgotten Lake Turkana
    and I’ve forgotten our parents’ mirth
    Oh how I long to long
    For the green, green hills of Earth!

  18. JanieBelle says:

    Sweet, Kristine!

    Nicely done.

    Kisses to you.

  19. [...] The Green Hills of Earth [...]

  20. Kristine says:

    I really liked Deacon’s.

  21. JanieBelle says:

    I’ve enjoyed them all so far, and I can’t wait to see how this vote plays out!

    Kisses to you all.

  22. Brendan says:

    Because I’m a lazy procrastinator, it’s still a rough draft, but here’s what I’ve got for the first one:

    When the elders speak,
    children listen.

    “Ages and ages ago,
    before your mothers were born . . .”
    Eyes glint and ears perk.
    A dozen touseled heads still
    and turn to the speaker.
    “There was an age
    when the hour wasn’t told by audiocasts,
    when night meant more
    that the lights being turned off
    when years meant more
    than numbers on walls
    An age before walls humming with power,
    floors thrumming by engine.
    When a window say more
    than the sparkling void.
    When we had a land
    The First Mothership,
    Earth.

    The Ark Ship sails on
    to the deepest reaches of space.
    I find myself pining
    for a piece of our past.
    I’ll never see a tree
    or a brook, or a bird,
    And you can’t really miss
    What you’ve not touched, or held, or hear
    I will never have a homeworld,
    to hold dear to my heart
    Oh how I long to long,
    For the green, green hills of earth.

  23. JanieBelle says:

    Very well done, Brendan!

    Kisses to you!

  24. [...] The Green Hills of Earth [...]

Leave a Reply

Sex in the Public Square

  • Sex in the Public Square
  • Sex In The Public Square.org

always.

  • always.

A Word About Me

  • I am entirely fictional, and without sexual preference.
  • Don't like it? Don't come back.

EMail

  • janiebellemcknight AT gmail DOT com

The Erotic Dreams of JanieBelle and Lovers

Kate Once Said

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Mature Content is Contained on this Blog

Help us support Sex Work Awareness

Past Poetry Contest Winners

Kate Once Said:

  • "Did you know that you don't close your eyes all the way when you sleep?

    It's making me excited again."

Awards and Nominations


WhoreChurch Seal of Approval

Celluloid Blonde Award

  • Best You People Are Truly Geeks Post

Thinking Blogger Award

Excellent Blog Award

Rockin' Girl Blogger Award

Order of the Science Scouts

Creative Commons License

All original material on this blog excepting The Lilith Quotient is covered under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

The Lilith Quotient

Creative Commons License

The Lilith Quotient by JanieBelle McKnight is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial- No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

Attribution should be made to JanieBelle McKnight, and contain a link to this blog.

z

Site Meter

Peeking Dreamers

  • 393,748 Page Views Since Moving To WordPress
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

